Content | Navigation |

Student enrollments are automatically added to Blackboard courses prior to the start of classes each semester and several times daily throughout the semester. Instructors DO NOT need to manually enroll students into Blackboard courses.

When a student drops a course in Campus Connection, they are automatically hidden from the course in Blackboard. Instructors do not (and should not) delete them from the course or change the student's status to Unavailable in Blackboard:

  • Once the drop is processed through Campus Connection, the Blackboard course is no longer visible to the student, and instructors no longer see that student in Users and Groups | Users or in the Grade Center.
  • All grade history and student work is preserved, but it is not visible in the Grade Center unless an instructor uses the Course Enrollments tool in Blackboard Manager to "add" them back into the course.
  • Instructors can use the Course Grades tool in Blackboard Manager to determine the date of last attendance for Financial Aid verification without adding the student back into the course.

Bb Manager Instructions (PDF - printable instructions)

View Date of Last Activity in Course Grades
  1. Login to Bb Manager with your NDSU electronic ID and passphrase.
  2. Click Course Grades, then click the Course ID for the course in which the student was enrolled.
  3. Find the student's name (optionally, use the Search: field in the top-right corner), then click the View [student name]'s grades link.


  4. View the Timestamp information for dates of activity, including graded and submitted (graded or ungraded) work.
What you'll see:

Manually Add/Remove Students in Course Enrollments

If necessary, instructors can use the Course Enrollments tool in Bb Manager to:

  • Grant access to a user who was never enrolled in the course in Campus Connection, but needs access to the Blackboard course.
  • Grant access to a student who dropped the class, but later needs access to the Blackboard course.
  • Remove access from a user who was manually added to the course earlier using Bb Manager.

Note: DO NOT use the Course Enrollments tool to add other instructors, Teaching Assistants, Course Builders or Course Graders to a course!

  1. Login to Bb Manager with your NDSU electronic ID and passphrase.
  2. Click Course Enrollments to see a list of all of your courses currently available on Blackboard.
  3. Click on the Course Id for the course you wish to manage:


  4. To manually ADD a student to this course - enter their student id or email address in the Student ID box:


  5. To RE-ADD a student who has officially dropped the course - click the Add link below the Student ID column in the list of Dropped Students - the student's grade history and coursework will reappear in the Grade Center once the next scheduled enrollment capture is processed.


  6. To REMOVE a manually-added student from the course later - click the Remove link below the Student ID column in the list of Manually Added Students

Note: Enrollment changes made in Bb Manager take effect the next time enrollments are processed (several times daily). You may not see the enrollment changes in your course immediately.

Once a student has been added to a Blackboard course manually, they can no longer be dropped automatically from the Blackboard course if they drop the course in Campus Connection later. Instructors must manually Remove these students using Course Enrollments in Bb Manager .


Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

North Dakota State University
IT Help Desk Phone: +1 (701) 231-8685
Administrative Calls Only: +1 (701) 231-7961 / Fax: (701) 231-8541
Campus address: Quentin Burdick Building 206
Physical/delivery address: 1320 Albrecht Blvd, Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing address: NDSU Dept. 4510 / PO Box 6050 / Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Information Technology Services

Last Updated: Thursday, November 15, 2018 12:31:06 PM
Privacy Statement