VMS strong at ASM branch meeting

NDSU Microbiology
by NDSU Microbiology

A group of faculty, staff, and students from VMS recently attended the annual meeting of the North Central Branch of the American Society for Microbiology (ASM-NCB). Ebot Tabe, Priyankar Samanta, Anuradha Vegi, and Birgit Pruess presented their research findings.

Ebot won the Outstanding Presentation award for his talk, entitled "A Cryptosporidium parvum rhomboid protease (CpROM) colocalizes with a thrombospondin related adhesive protein (TRAP-C1) during invasion of host cells". Ebot is a student in John McEvoy's lab. Dr. Pruess was elected President of the ASM-NCB and will host the 2012 meeting at NDSU. Please, mark your calendar for October 12/13, 2012. Penelope Gibbs will serve as Vice President, Shelley Horne as Treasurer.