Content | Navigation |

Memorial Union


The History of Masters of Success


Founded in 2000, the Masters of Success advanced leadership program is the brainchild of a former program participant and Steve Winfrey, NDSU Memorial Union Director (2007-current). 

The student was once a part of one of Steve's basic level leadership programs. The student was very bright and well-liked by students, faculty and administrators. He was the type of student to be voted, "Most Likely to Succeed".

After graduating, the student experienced the harsh difference between the safe environment of a college setting and the hard core reality of today's work environment. After being fired from his $50,000 position, the student telephoned Steve and asked the dreaded and unforgettable question, "What are you teaching your students about leadership?"

The student was being fired from his first job. What did he do wrong? Why did he not see this coming? Why did his intelligence fail him? After four hours of intense conversation, the meeting was finally over and the pilot program for the next generation leadership program was born. Using the latest leadership theories, coaching methodologies, communication theories, the Masters of Success program was born.

Today, the student has his master's degree in agriculture and his happily working as a successful businessman and business man in Minnesota.

Previous "MOS Students of the Year":

•  Jessica Neumann 2007

•  Sindhuja Sankaran 2008

•  Judy Novotny 2009

•  Kylie Artz 2010

•  Tegan Jo Buckley 2011

•  Cassie Hillen 2012

•  Amanda Breen 2013

•  Austin Roerick 2014

•  Brittney Richter 2015

•  Ishanka Wimaladharma 2016

Previous program sponsors:

US Bank

Vanity Clothing

Choice Financial Banking

Randy Stanbury Industries (Canada)

Spotlight Media

Titan Machinery

Hatch Realty

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

North Dakota State University
Administration Phone: +1 (701) 231-8241
Campus address: Memorial Union
Physical/delivery address: 1401 Administration Ave., Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing address: NDSU Dept. 5340 / PO Box 6050 / Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Memorial Union

Last Updated: Monday, October 24, 2016 4:17:35 PM
Privacy Statement