Content | Navigation |

Memorial Union


Missouri Valley Gold: Paintings by Greg Walter

August 6 – September 11, 2015

Artist Talk September 4, 11:00 a.m.

For more than twenty years, Dickinson-based painter Greg Walter has focused his painting practice on the landscape: its expanses and its intimacy, its subtle and dynamic beauty, and the play of light, shadow and color throughout the changes of the seasons. Painting en plein air, Walter finds that the landscape offers unlimited possibilities in subject and great variety within those subjects. 

Walter’s most recent series of paintings explores the beauty and variety of landscape found in the Missouri River Valley. He is inspired by the diversity and subtleties of this landscape, from the lay of the land to the lighting above, and the way in which the changing atmosphere affects color and contrast. Through his careful studies of this diverse environment, Walter aims to reveal the beauty and dynamism that might be missed, encouraging others find beauty where they may not have looked for it in the past.  

Angles: Selections from NDSU Advanced Painting

May - September 2015

Memorial Union Main Level

The three paintings in “Angles,” an exhibition on the main level of the Memorial Union, capture unique perspectives, framing scenes one might briefly catch in passing. Each piece presents a glimpse in time shown through a distinct, third person perspective. An aerial view of blond hair pulled into a bun, secured with a pink scrunchie. A solitary lifeguard tower perched on an empty beach, set against a fading blue horizon. A cinematic frame of figures exposed yet blurred through a windowpane. These paintings are testimonies to individual moments, filtered through varying perspectives that allow viewers to focus and fixate.

This exhibition wall was curated by Juan Arce of the Memorial Union Gallery and highlights paintings made during the Spring 2015 semester by students enrolled in Advanced Painting at NDSU. For more information and pricing, stop by the Memorial Union Gallery.


Semester Hours:
Tuesday through Saturday,
11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m. and
Thursday, 11:00 a.m. - 8:00 p.m. 

Summer + Holiday Hours:
Monday through Friday,
12:00 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. 
Or by appointment
The Gallery will be closed the following dates due to holidays, trainings, and show transitions: August 19-20, September 12, September 19, November 11, November 26  28, December 12

Contact the MU Gallery:
(701) 231- 7900
2nd floor of the NDSU Memorial Union




September 4: Greg Walter Artist Talk, 11 am

September 10 – 11: Jim Falck Preview Exhibition

September 25: Opening Reception - “A Protest Against Forgetting: The Paintings of Jim Falck,” 5 – 7 pm

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

North Dakota State University
Administration Phone: +1 (701) 231-8241
Campus address: Memorial Union
Physical/delivery address: 1401 Administration Ave., Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing address: NDSU Dept. 5340 / PO Box 6050 / Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Memorial Union

Last Updated: Tuesday, September 01, 2015 4:55:25 PM