Content | Navigation |





NDSU student receives prestigious national scholarship

Published April 2018

Jared Melville, a senior majoring in business administration and political science, has been selected as a 2018 Truman Scholar. The award is considered one of the most prestigious scholarships in the United States.

A total of 59 students from 52 U.S. colleges and universities were honored this year from a list of more than 750 candidates.

“I was thrilled for Jared and NDSU when I learned he was named a Truman Scholar,” said NDSU President Dean L. Bresciani. “Seeing Jared’s name posted among many of the nation’s brightest and most accomplished students is a collective honor for us all. Everyone at NDSU is extraordinarily proud of him.”

“Receiving the Truman Scholarship validates my desire to commit my life to a career of public service,” Melville said. “After graduating from NDSU, I hope to work in North Dakota for a couple of years and then pursue a graduate education specializing in energy policy. I am incredibly thankful for all the wonderful faculty and students who provided support throughout my application process.”

Melville, who is from Fargo, is the Chief Justice of the NDSU Student Court, NDSU Technology Fee Advisory Committee member and Lincoln Speech and Debate Organization president. He is the student member of the North Dakota Economic Development Foundation, president of the North Dakota Student Association and a member of Beta Gamma Sigma business honor society.

He plans to pursue a law degree and a Master of Public Affairs degree.

The Harry S. Truman Scholarship Foundation was created by Congress in 1975, with a mission to select and support the next generation of public service leaders. Scholarship recipients receive a $30,000 scholarship toward graduate school and the opportunity to participate in professional development programming to help prepare them for careers in public service leadership.

Melville and other recipients are scheduled to participate in a leadership development program Tuesday, May 22, at William Jewell College in Liberty, Missouri. They will be recognized during a ceremony at the Harry S. Truman Presidential Library and Museum Sunday, May 27, in Independence, Missouri.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations

Last Updated: Friday, April 20, 2018 1:20:44 PM
Privacy Statement