Content | Navigation |



NDSU club takes top horticulture honors

Scheldorf, Rajtar, Hagemeyer and Jones

Scheldorf, Rajtar, Hagemeyer and Jones

NDSU’s Horticulture and Forestry Club placed first overall at the Mid-America Collegiate Horticulture Society conference and competition held at Northwest Missouri State University in Maryville Oct. 7-9. Three students placed in individual events.

Connor Hagemeyer, a sophomore horticulture major from Clara City, Minnesota, took first place in woody plant identification, second place in herbaceous plant identification and was the second place overall individual.

Torie Jones, a senior horticulture and public history double major from Fessenden, North Dakota, placed third in woody plant identification.

Andrew Scheldorf, a junior horticulture major from Chokio, Minnesota, placed third in fruit, vegetable and plant judging.

Hagemeyer, Jones, Scheldorf and Nick Rajtar, a junior horticulture major from Blaine, Minnesota, made up the first place overall team.

The club is advised by Department of Plant Sciences faculty members Harlene Hatterman-Valenti and Todd West.

The Mid-America Collegiate Horticulture Society is comprised of horticulture clubs from universities and two-year colleges in Colorado, Kansas, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

As a student-focused, land grant, research institution, we serve our citizens.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations