Content | Navigation |



Cereal science students receive awards at cereal chemists meeting

Four NDSU cereal science graduate students received awards at the 2017 American Association of Cereal Chemists International meeting held in San Diego on Oct. 8-11.

Cassie Anderson and Bethany Stebbins placed third in Student Association Product Development Competition, Ramnarain Ramakrishna won the Best Student Research Award for Grain Nutrition Science and Maneka Malalgoda won the Walter Bushuk Graduate Research Award in Cereal Protein Chemistry.

The purpose of the Product Development Competition is for students to develop and present innovative food products with at least one major cereal or legume. Anderson and Stebbins’ project was “Worry-Free Brownies.”

Ramakrishna’s poster and oral presentations were “Improving Phenolic Bioactive-Linked Anti-Hyperglycemic Functions of Dark Germinated Barley Sprouts (Hordeum vulgare L.) Using Seed-Driven Elicitation Strategy.”

Other NDSU graduate students, staff and faculty attending the meeting included Hiroshi Ando, Patricia Cabas Luhmann, Elias Elias, Supun Fernando, Clifford Hall, Richard Horsley, Amber Kaiser, Yang Lan, Yu Liu, Ana Magallanes-Lopez, Yasuyuki Nishitsuji, Md Mahfuzur Rahman, Jiajia Rao, Delgersaikhan Shinez, Senay Simsek and Kristen Whitney.

As a student-focused, land-grant, research university, we serve our citizens.


Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations