Content | Navigation |



Faculty recognized at pharmacy hooding

The College of Pharmacy, Nursing, and Allied Sciences recognized several faculty at this year's Pharmacy Hooding Ceremony on May 15 held at NDSU's Festival Concert Hall. Approximately 650 parents, students and guests attended the ceremony. Tony Welder, BS '61, pharmacist owner of Dakota Pharmacy, Bismarck, presented the keynote address, "It's Your Future, Create It."

Sanku Mallik, professor of pharmaceutical sciences, received the Dean's Award for Excellence in Research, which recognizes a faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding achievements in research, including excellence and innovation in their scholarly work. Mallik has procured a total of $5.8 million in grant funding to support his research at NDSU. Since 1998, he has produced more than 40 publications in major peer-reviewed journals, including one book chapter. He has made 17 presentations at professional meetings and has three pending patents. Mallik’s research laboratory is involved in the design, synthesis and testing of potential drug candidates for metastatic cancers. He has successfully designed a drug delivery system, which releases an anticancer drug when it comes in contact with cancer cells.

Wanda Roden, director of Experiential Programs, received the Dean's Award for Exemplary Service, which recognizes a faculty or staff member for their outstanding commitment and contributions toward service to the college, its people and programs. She received the award for her outstanding service to the NDSU chapter of the Academy of Student Pharmacists. Roden serves as faculty adviser, mentor, career counselor, advocate and role model for students in the organization. "Because of her energy and enthusiasm, membership in the Academy of Student Pharmacists has more than doubled and students are excited to participate in many service-related activities that are truly making a difference in our community," said Charles D. Peterson, dean of the College of Pharmacy, Nursing, and Allied Sciences. Under Roden’s leadership and guidance, the academy has received several regional and national awards for various projects including Operation Immunization and Heartburn Awareness. Roden also was instrumental in organizing this past year's Legislative Day activities for NDSU students, including a training session and bus trip to Bismarck.

Polly Olson, program director for Allied Sciences, received the Dean's Award for Outstanding Advising, which recognizes a faculty or staff member for their outstanding contributions and commitment to advising students. She is responsible for program planning for both pre-professional and professional students enrolled in respiratory care, clinical laboratory science and radiologic sciences. Olson also is administratively responsible for managing and academic advising 341 pre-professional allied sciences majors and 74 professional students in allied sciences programs. According to Peterson, some noteworthy attributes that contributed to Olson receiving the award include her positive attitude and excellent communication and interpersonal skills; a genuine caring concern for students; knowledge of the curriculum and profession; organizational skills; and her accessibility, time commitment and compassion for students. In addition, Olson is administratively responsible for managing and maintaining affiliations with 17 hospital-based programs that provide internships for professional-level allied sciences students.

Robert Sylvester, associate professor of pharmacy practice, received the 2009 Teacher of the Year Award for the Pharmacy Program. The award recognizes a faculty member, chosen by students in the professional program, for outstanding performance and commitment to teaching.

Mark Dewey, assistant professor of pharmacy practice, received the 2009 Faculty Preceptor of the Year Award, which is an award selected by students in the fourth professional year of the program. The award represents outstanding performance and commitment in instruction of pharmacy students on clinical rotations by a full-time faculty member.

Jeff Sawyer, a pharmacist from Melrose, Minn., received the 2009 Adjunct Preceptor of the Year Award. The award recipient is selected by graduating seniors and represents outstanding performance and commitment in instruction of pharmacy students on clinical rotations by a practicing pharmacist who volunteers their time to provide clinical instruction of pharmacy students.

“These individuals are all deserving of these college and pharmacy program awards,” says Peterson. “Thanks to their dedication and commitment to excellence, the quality of our programs is regionally and nationally recognized.”

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations

Last Updated: Thursday, January 27, 2022 3:57:06 PM
Privacy Statement