Content | Navigation |



Marksmanship Club member earns medals at national event

NDSU pistol shooter Pryce Pinney, a senior majoring in agricultural systems management from Ainsworth, Nebraska, won an individual silver medal in 50-meter free pistol competition and bronze medal in 25-meter men’s sport pistol competition at the 2018 NRA National Intercollegiate Pistol Championships March 17-20 at Fort Benning, Georgia. 

Pryce is a member of the NDSU Marksmanship Club, which was also represented by Krista Dvorak, a sophomore animal science major from Wagner, South Dakota; Seth Perkins, a freshman pharmacy major from Bemidji, Minnesota; Caitlyn Fleahman, a senior pharmacy majority from Bemidji, Minnesota; and Kaitlyn Steffl, a freshman majoring in radiology/sonography from Redwood Falls, Minnesota. 

The NDSU Free Pistol Team of Pinney, Dvorak, Fleahman and Perkins finished fifth overall with nearly 90 shooters competing. The top pistol teams and shooters were invited to the matches based on the ranking of their scores in sectional matches held in February. In other matches, the NDSU Women’s Sport Pistol Team of Dvorak, Fleahman and Steffl finished in sixth place and the NDSU Standard Pistol Team of Pinney, Perkins, Dvorak and Fleahman finished in 10th place. The NDSU Open Air Pistol Team made up of Pinney, Perkins, Fleahman and Dvorak finished in seventh place nationally. 

Pinney also won first team All-American honors in free pistol, standard pistol and open air pistol. All-American honors are based on scores from the national matches in addition to scores from other qualifying matches and academic eligibility. The teams are coached by Eric Pueppke and James Ladwig.

The NDSU Marksmanship Club also had three rifle shooters compete in the 2018 NRA Intercollegiate Club Rifle Championship Matches March 23-25 at Fort Benning. Shooters representing NDSU included Sarah Biggers, a sophomore majoring in radiological sciences from Valley City, North Dakota; Colin Larrabee, a senior finance major from Princeton, Minnesota; and Andrew Wherley, a senior from Mohall, North Dakota, who is majoring in natural resources management. Shooters were invited to the national matches based on their minimum qualifying scores in sectional matches held in February. Wherley and Larrabee competed in the three-position small bore rifle competition and Wherley, Larrabee and Biggers took part in the 10-meter air rifle match. 

The rifle shooters are coached by Mitchell and Brandon Godbout. Larry Cihacek, professor of soil science, is the faculty adviser.

As a student-focused, land-grant, research university, we serve our citizens.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations