Content | Navigation |



College names Top 10 seniors, honors others

The NDSU College of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Natural Resources named its Top 10 seniors and presented other awards at the banquet that concluded NDSU Ag Week.

The Top 10 seniors are:

·      Ryan Callahan, microbiology, Pierre, South Dakota

·      Ann Denk, agricultural economics, Mondovi, Wisconsin

·      Chris Eggen, crop and weed sciences, West Fargo, North Dakota

·      Alex Fellbaum, animal science and agricultural economics, Swanville, Minnesota

·      Bailey Hawbaker, agriculture economics and agriculture education, Portal, North Dakota

·      Megan Jones, crop and weed science, Bowdon, North Dakota

·      Kaci Levorsen,agricultural economics and marketing, Elgin, North Dakota

·      Jessi Subart, animal science, Rock Lake, North Dakota

·      Emily Trzpuc, animal science, Kathryn, North Dakota

·      Abigail Zikmund, microbiology, Pisek, North Dakota

The students were selected through an application process based on leadership and community service; honors, awards and recognitions; work experience or internships; and additional noteworthy experiences, activities or accomplishments.

“The college’s Top 10 seniors are always testimony to the fact that there are many unique ways to be an outstanding student,” said David S. Buchanan, associate dean for academic programs. “Each of them has demonstrated excellence, but their stories are all different.”

In addition, faculty and staff honored were:

·      George Washington Award to a faculty member who puts agriculture first and foremost on campus and on a global scale: William Wilson, agribusiness and applied economics

·      Open Door Award to a faculty member whose door is always open to students: Edward Deckard, plant sciences

·      Owl Award to a faculty member whose classes are beneficial, challenging and fun: Loren Baranko, animal sciences

·      Golden Bison Award to a faculty or staff member who has made great contributions to NDSU agriculture throughout their careers: Shelly Swandal, agribusiness and applied economics

·      Herd Award to a faculty member who wholeheartedly believes students come first through academic or organization advising: Erik Hansen, agricultural and applied economics

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations