Content | Navigation |



Communication department receives program assessment honor

The NDSU Department of Communication undergraduate programshave been selected for the 2019 Amy Rupiper Taggart Award for Excellence in Program Assessment.

The Assessment Award Committee chose the department based on their holistic model for programwide assessment, commitment to continued improvement in assessment techniques through internal and external validation and the execution of the program-level curriculum mapping initiative. 

Stephenson Beck, department chair, said, "This is truly a wonderful award to receive, as it showcases our efforts to improve the connection between our teaching and student learning. Of course, this is a never-ending process, but it is nice to receive confirmation, through this award, that we are moving in the right direction."

The award honors the memory of the late Amy Rupiper Taggart, who was director of the First-Year Writing Program from 2008 to 2012. It recognizes individuals or small teams for creative and thorough methods of gathering evidence to evaluate student learning.

"It is wonderful to be associated with any award named after Amy Rupiper Taggart. She was not only strong in assessment practices, but also a wonderful person and professor. It truly is an honor to receive an award named after her," Beck said.

As a student focused, land grant, research institution, we serve our citizens.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations