Content | Navigation |



ND EPSCoR announces award recipients

North Dakota Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (ND EPSCoR) announced research awardees for its Infrastructure Improvement Program (IIP) Seed Grants and Doctoral Dissertation Assistantship (DDA) programs.

The research awardees include:
Peggy Biga, assistant professor, biological sciences
Sivaguru Jayaraman, assistant professor, chemistry and molecular biology
Wei Jin, assistant professor, computer science
Sean Sather-Wagstaff, assistant professor, mathematics
Craig Stockwell, associate professor, biological sciences
Xiangqing Tangpong, assistant professor, mechanical engineering
Alexander Wagner, associate professor, physics
Erxi Wu, assistant professor, pharmaceutical science
Weiyi Zhang, assistant professor, computer science
Pinjing Zhao, assistant professor, chemistry and molecular biology

Student recipients, their departments and advisers are:
Avinash Ambre, civil engineering, Kalpana Katti, associate and distinguished professor
Sumit Ghosh, veterinary and microbiological sciences, Jane Schuh, assistant professor
LaToya Kissoon, biological sciences, Marinus Otte, professor
Barry Pemberton, chemistry and molecular biology, Sivaguru Jayaraman, assistant professor

Thirty-six NDSU researchers competed for the awards, which total more than $446,880. The IIP Seed Grant program provides opportunity for investigators to initiate a research program in one or more areas supported by the National Science Foundation. The DDA program is designed to increase the completion rate of doctoral students enrolled in science, engineering and mathematics and to increase the number of competitive proposals submitted to the National Science Foundation.

ND EPSCoR is a federally and state funded program designed to help university researchers compete more effectively for federal, regional and private research grants in science, engineering and mathematics. For more information, contact David Givers, ND EPSCoR co-project director, at 1-7516 or or visit


Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations

Last Updated: Friday, July 01, 2022 3:54:45 PM
Privacy Statement