Content | Navigation |



Athletes to be awarded scholarships during Harvest Bowl

Twelve scholarships will be awarded to outstanding NDSU female and male athletes during this year's Harvest Bowl festivities Oct. 28-29. The NDSU Harvest Bowl program also recognizes the outstanding work of agriculturists in 53 counties in North Dakota and several in Minnesota.

A special agribusiness award goes to an individual who has a distinguished record in agriculture and business. This year's award recipient is Allan Johnson, farm publisher and former U.S. Department of Agriculture deputy undersecretary for rural development.

The 2011 Harvest Bowl Scholarship recipient is Marshall Bjorklund, a member of the basketball team. Bjorklund is from Arlington, Minn., and majoring in agricultural systems management. The recipient of a Harvest Bowl Scholarship in honor of Robert Johansen is Kristi Schaffer, a member of the track and field team. Schaffer is from Brandon, Minn., and majoring in marketing.

The Bob and Darlene Yaggie Football Scholarship is awarded to Ryan Drevlow, nose guard on the football team. Drevlow is from Gwinner and majoring in electrical engineering. Receiving the Bob Lauf Memorial Scholarship is Coulter Boyer, defensive end on the football team. Boyer is from Hurley, S.D., and majoring in business management and marketing.

The Ron and Karen Offutt Scholarship goes to Alec Espeland, a member of the track and field team. Espeland is from Pierre, S.D., and majoring in microbiology. The Red River Commodities Scholarship is awarded to Caitlin Mack, pole vaulter on the track and field team. Mack is from Watertown, S.D., and majoring in exercise science.

The John and Kay Dean Scholarship is awarded to Kristen Killoran, a multi-event track and field member. Killoran is from Casselton and majoring in exercise science. Andrew Grothmann, fullback on the football team, is the recipient of the #64 Bob and #58 Bruce Yaggie Father-Son Scholarship. Grothmann is from Hillsboro and majoring in agricultural economics.

The Darrel Larson Family Scholarship is awarded to Trevor Gebhart, wide receiver on the football team. Gebhart is from Sioux Falls, S.D., and majoring in business administration. The LeVon C. Kirkeide, Patricia Kirkeide-Hagemeister and Friends Scholarship is awarded to Samantha "Sam" Holien, middle infielder on the softball team. Holien is from Forest Lake, Minn., and majoring in microbiology.

Lauren Cammack, outside hitter on the volleyball team, is the recipient of the Scott and Ann Dau Family Scholarship. Cammack is from DeWitt, Neb., and majoring in civil engineering. The Titan Machinery Scholarship is awarded to Nolan Berg, pole vaulter on the track and field team. Berg is from Karlstad, Minn., and majoring in sports and urban turgrass management.

The 38th annual Harvest Bowl festivities begin Friday, Oct. 28, at the Fargo Ramada Plaza and Suites with a dinner and awards ceremony. On Saturday, honorees will participate in educational sessions on the NDSU campus and attend the Harvest Bowl football game featuring Northern Iowa against NDSU.

For tickets and information on Harvest Bowl activities, visit the NDSU Alumni Association website at, call the NDSU alumni office toll-free at (800) 279-8971 or locally at (701) 231-6800, or email

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations