Content | Navigation |



Faculty in Residence Education Program welcomes 30 mentors

Thirty NDSU faculty members volunteered to become mentors in the Faculty in Residence Education Program, administered by the Department of Residence Life, for the 2011-12 academic year. The program is a student-success initiative designed to incorporate faculty mentorship in the residential environment. Faculty mentors participate in a variety of ways, ranging from attending social events to working with staff members to develop programs that foster both intellectual and personal development for students. Research supports that a strong connection between students and faculty outside of the classroom significantly impacts students' success in college.

Faculty mentors collaborate with residence hall staff members to develop and implement programs and interactions ranging from community-building activities to academic and intellectual discussions. Mentors are asked to commit one hour per week (or four hours per month) and may choose to work solely with first-year students or with all levels of college students (first-year through graduate).

Faculty mentors for 2011-12 include:

College of Agriculture, Food Systems, and Natural Resources
Harlene Hatterman-Valenti, AES plant pathology
Todd West, AES plant sciences
David Buchanan, animal sciences
Alan Zuk, plant sciences
Amy Ganguli, range science

College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
Michael Burns, Laura Farrell, Julie Fudge, Kate Gronewold and Derek Jorgenson, communication
Erienne Fawcett, women’s studies
Linda Fricker, dean’s office
Jo Cavins, English
Carol Cwiak, emergency management
Leretta Smith, sociology/anthropology

College of Business
Kay Hopkins and Tim Peterson, business

College of Engineering and Architecture
Bakr Aly Ahmed and David Crutchfield, architecture and landscape architecture
Sumathy Krishnan, mechanical engineering

College of Human Development and Education
Dipra Jha, apparel, design and hospitality management
Larry Napoleon and Anita Welch, School of Education
Florin Salajan, distance and continuing education, School of Education
Sherri Stastny, health, nutrition and exercise sciences
Dena Wyum, family science

College of Pharmacy, Nursing, and Allied Sciences
Daniel Friesner, pharmacy practice
Erxi Wu, pharmaceutical sciences

College of Science and Mathematics
Jim Coykendall, mathematics
Gang Shen, statistics

For more information about the program or how to become a faculty mentor, contact Tammie Reger, NDSU Department of Residence Life at 1-7106 or

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations