Content | Navigation |



NDSU's hunt seat equestrian team wins top honor

For the first time, NDSU’s hunt seat equestrian team has earned the title of high point team. The team received the title Nov. 19, the first day of a two-day horse show hosted by the University of Minnesota-Crookston.

The NDSU team tied with University of Minnesota-Crookston riders as the high point team the second day of the event. This was the NDSU team's first competition of the season.

Two NDSU team members also earned individual honors. Sarah Bridge, a sophomore from Plymouth, Minn., was named high point reserve rider Nov. 19 and Mattia Lein, a senior from Glyndon, Minn., was named high point rider Nov. 20.

Other team members were Siara Melius, sophomore, Mound, Minn.; Erica Pfarr, senior, Rochester, Minn.; Kaylin Scarberry, sophomore, Fargo; Kelsey Voigt, senior, St. Louis Park, Minn.; Alyssa Langaas, sophomore, Greenbush, Minn.; Emily Norwig, freshman, Hampton, Minn.; Deann Berntson, freshman, Kulm, N.D.; Allison Mustonen, sophomore, Buffalo, Minn.; Carly Scanson, freshman, Fargo; and Emily Dickson, freshman, Australia.

A total of 69 riders from nine colleges and universities in North Dakota, Minnesota and Wisconsin competed in the show.

"I am extremely proud of the team's accomplishments," says coach Erika Berg. "Their hard work paid off, and I look forward to more wins by this young team in the coming season."

The team's next competition is Feb. 4-5, 2012, at the University of Minnesota.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-1068 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Old Main 204
Mailing address: Dept 6000 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: NDSU University Relations

Last Updated: Sunday, August 25, 2013
Privacy Statement