Award for Excellence in Course Assessment

The Office of Teaching and Learning invites applications for this award that honors individuals or small teams for creative and thorough methods of assessment in individual courses or a series of consecutive courses. The award promotes sharing of outstanding assessment models with the North Dakota State University (NDSU) community. More than one award may be given at the discretion of the Assessment Awards Committee.

Award winners will receive $500 (for individuals and small teams) to use for professional development.



Teaching faculty and staff can nominate themselves, or may be nominationated by a colleague(s) and/or student(s). Please limit award applications four pages, composed of one cover page and three additional pages describing how the nominee meets the criteria listed below. Applications can be submitted starting January 1st and are due by March 1, annually.

Cover page - The cover page should include name, department, email address, and phone number for the nominee and, if applicable, the nominator.

The Award for Excellence in Course Assessment nominee must demonstrate the following attributes about assessment protocol:

  1. Assesses either formative or summative student learning,
  2. Focuses on specific learning objectives,
  3. Has been used to improve student learning,
  4. Is appropriate for their course level,
  5. Uses valid, effective data collection methods,
  6. Gives a product and/or data that clearly assesses the learning objectives,
  7. Can be used long-term,
  8. Is amenable to modification with time, and
  9. Can be adopted or modified for use in other courses across campus.

The Assessment Awards Committee will meet to assess and evaluate submissions. Recipients will be announced on or before April 14, annually. Contact Jill Motschenbacher, Office of Teaching and Learning, with questions.




2018 Excellence in Course Assessment Award Winners:


It is an honor to announce that the faculty teaching team of Drs. Heidi N. Eukel, Jeanne E. Frenzel, and Elizabeth T. Skoy from the Department of Pharmacy Practice were selected for the 2018 Award for Excellence in Course Assessment.

Drs. Eukel, Frenzel, and Skoy were selected because of the quality and variety of formative and summative assessments used in their class, which focus on both individual and team learning. The team demonstrated that ongoing instructional change has occurred, and is occurring, in the classroom as a result of assessing student learning. Their assessment plan was organized, focused, adaptable over time, and can be used as a model for other courses.  

Drs. Eukel, Frenzel, and Skoy will receive a $500 prize to use toward a professional development opportunity of their choice.

Additional nominees for the 2018 Excellence in Course Assessment Award were: Dr. Loren Baranko from the Department of Animal Science, nominated by Dr. Jeanette Hoffman and Dr. Kenneth Magel from the Department of Computer Science and Operations Research, nominated by Dr. Brian Slator. Nominations for the 2019 Assessment Awards will be accepted January 1 through March 1, 2019.


2018 Excellence in Course Assessment Award Nominees:

The nominees for the 2018 Award for Excellence in Course Assessment are...

Loren Baranko, Ph.D.
Department of Animal Science
Course: Introduction to Animal Sciences Labs (ANSC 114)
Nominated by: Jeanette Hoffman, Ed.D. // School of Education

Heidi N. Eukel, PharmD // Jeanne E. Frenzel, PharmD // Elizabeth T. Skoy, PharmD
Department of Pharmacy Practice
Course: Pharmacy Practice Laboratory I (PHRM 351L)
Nominated by: Heidi N. Eukel, PharmD; Jeanne E. Frenzel, PharmD; and Elizabeth T. Skoy, PharmD // Department of Pharmacy Practice

Kenneth Magel, Ph.D.
Department of Computer Science
Course: Various Computer Science courses
Nominated by: Brian Slator, Ph.D. // Department of Computer Science


Past Winners:


2017 - Brody Maack, PharmD

Dr. Maack was selected because of the wide range of assessment practices and methods he employs to effectively teach the Pharmacy 538 (PHRM 538) – Cardiovascular and Pulmonary Diseases course.  Dr. Maack's nomination particularly stood out because of the methodical way he uses multiple assessment tools throughout the course to support student engagement. His use of both formative and summative assessment practices to assess student learning creates a well-developed course assessment model that is sustainable and adaptable to other courses.

Top of page