Innovation in HyFlex Teaching Award

The Office of Teaching and Learning and Learning and Applied Innovation Center are excited to announce a new award to celebrate educational innovation over this past year. This award recognizes an individual who has exhibited creativity to elicit high levels of student engagement and learning in the HyFlex environment. There will be two categories for this award; one will be for large enrollment classes of 40 or more students, and one will be for small enrollment classes less than 40 students.

Consider nominating a colleague. Self-nominations are also welcome.

To submit a nomination, use the link provided below. You will be taken to a short form that will ask you to explain why the individual deserves the award in 2,000 characters or less. Nominations can be made by any member of the NDSU community. Award winners will receive a $100 NDSU Bookstore gift card. 

Winners will be announced at the Teaching and Learning Mini-Virtual-Conference to be held virtually May 25, 2021.  

Nomination deadline: April 16, 2021


2021 Teaching and Learning Award Winners:

There were an incredible amount of nominations which made it very difficult to choose. We had a large panel that looked through all the nominations. There were so many exemplary nominations from faculty, staff, and students. Thank you to all who nominated someone for these awards and congratulations to all who were nominated!


Innovation in HyFlex Teaching (Small Enrollment) Award:



Dr. Nathan Wood
School of Education

View Award Video >>




Innovation in HyFlex Teaching (Large Enrollment) Award:



Dr. Laura Thomas
Psychology Department

View Award Video >>



2021 Nominees

The nominees listed are for both the Innovation in HyFlex Teaching and Inspiring Colleague awards:

  • Beena Ajmera
  • Enrique Alvarez
  • Kimberly Booth
  • Amitava Chatterjee
  • Sajad Ebrahimi
  • Rasha Hendawi
  • Ben Laabs
  • Stanley Ng
  • Paul Omernik
  • Mary Pearson
  • Fred Riggins
  • Jessie Rock
  • Ellen Schwarz
  • Lauren Singelmann
  • Brad Strand
  • Mark Strand
  • Ryan Striker
  • Laura Thomas
  • Cheryl Wachenheim
  • Nate Wood
Top of page