Cody Hunter


Office: Music Building 109B
Phone: (701) 231-6501


  • B.M.E. University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
  • M.M. University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
  • D.M.A. University of Memphis

Dr. Cody Hunter is currently Assistant Professor of Music and Head of Fine Arts at Mayville State University, where he directs ensembles and teaches a variety of other music courses. In addition to his teaching duties at MaSU and NDSU, Dr. Hunter is Assistant Conductor for the Northern Valley Youth Orchestra and is on the teaching faculty for the International Music Camp.

Dr. Hunter is an advocate for new, exciting bassoon works. Currently he has two commissions in progress from Dr. Daniel Baldwin and Alex Manton. Most recently, a collection of solo bassoon works titled “Confessions” by Lithuanian bassoonist Žilvinas Smalys was dedicated to Dr. Hunter following “a friendly request” to write a new work for solo bassoon. The collection runs the gamut for all of the different characteristics the bassoon can create. Additionally, Dr. Hunter premiered a new bassoon trio “Three of a Kind” by Dr. Michael Wittgraf of the University of North Dakota. The piece had its world premier in February 2019, with Dr. Hunter performing alongside the composer and bassoonist Bryan Young.

As a performer, Dr. Hunter won the principal bassoon position for the Fox Valley Symphony Orchestra in November 2019. Dr. Hunter has performed with notable ensembles such as the Eroica Ensemble of Memphis, Memphis Symphony Orchestra, Symphony Orchestra Augusta, Arkansas Symphony, Bemidji Symphony, Bismarck-Mandan Symphony, Fargo-Moorhead Symphony, and the Fargo-Moorhead Opera. Through a collaboration with friend and colleague Dr. Kevin Sütterlin, Dr. Hunter performed the Mozart bassoon concerto with Sinfonietta Memphis in the spring of 2017.

Dr. Hunter received his D.M.A. from the University of Memphis, his M.M. from the University of MN-Twin Cities, and his B. Mus. Ed. from the University of WI-Stevens Point. His primary bassoon teachers include Dr. Patricia Holland, Norbert Nielubowski, John Miller, and Lecolion Washington.