Edwin Fissinger Choral Composition Prizes

NDSU Challey School of Music honors the legacy and traditions of noted choral composer and long-time NDSU choral conductor Edwin Fissinger with its annual choral composition competition.

The Edwin Fissinger Choral Composition Prizes will be awarded to the first and second place winners.

2017 First Place Winner

Jacob Beranek for "Our Rhyme"

NDSU Challey School of Music is pleased to announce the winner of the 2017 Edwin Fissinger Choral Composition Prize: "Our Rhyme" by Jacob Beranek, an 18-year-old musician from Oconomowoc, Wisconsin. He is a published composer, award-winning pianist, and dedicated enthusiast of Czech culture. Beranek has received many honors for his work throughout Wisconsin, the Midwest, and the nation, and is currently serving as the first-ever composer-in-residence for the Midsummer's Music Festival in Door County, Wisconsin. He is pursuing a Bachelor of Music in Composition at Vanderbilt University's Blair School of Music. His website is "Our Rhyme" will premiere at a performance by the NDSU Concert Choir on March 18, 2018 at NDSU Festival Concert Hall.

Previous Recipients

Pictured above: NDSU Concert Choir with Jacob Beranek (white bowtie) , winner of the 2017 Fissinger Choral Composition Prize.

Prizes / Performance

  • First: $1,000
  • Second: $500
  • NDSU reserves the right to not award prizes in any given year.
  • The composer of the first prize work must be present at the premiere performance in March 2019.
  • NDSU will reimburse actual travel, lodging and food expenses up to a maximum of $750.
  • Winners will be announced at by September 1, 2018.
  • The first prize winner's piece, with the approval of the composer, will have their composition considered for publication in Pavane Publishing for placement in the Jo Ann Miller Choral Series. The second prize piece will be considered for publication.