Edwin Fissinger Choral Composition Prizes

NDSU Challey School of Music honors the legacy and traditions of noted choral composer and long-time NDSU choral conductor Edwin Fissinger with its annual choral composition competition.

The Edwin Fissinger Choral Composition Prizes will be awarded to the first and second place winners.



2016 Deadlines

  • Score submission: June 1, 2016
  • Announcement of winners: Due to the record number of entries, the judging period has been extended and the announcement will be made no later than September 1, 2016.
  • Premiere of winning composition: October 2, 2016
  • Application fee: $25 per composition
    • Pay online at NDSU Marketplace
    • Or mail check to Dr. Jo Ann Miller, NDSU Challey School of Music, Dept 2334, PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
      • Must be postmarked by June 1, 2016


Entries should be:

  • for mixed choir (SATB), divisi is acceptable
  • unaccompanied, or with piano accompaniment
  • three to five minutes in length
  • original, not previously performed publicly, and unpublished. The text may be sacred or secular, either in the public domain or copyrighted, as long as a letter of permission from the copyright owner is included with the submission
  • suitable for an accomplished high school or university choir
  • arrangements of pre-existing melodies will not be accepted


  • Open to all composers with the exception of current NDSU faculty, staff, and students.
  • Prior winners may re-enter only after five years.


  • First: $1000
  • Second: $500
  • NDSU reserves the right to not award prizes in a given year.
  • The composer of the first prize work must be present at the premiere performance on October 2, 2016.
    NDSU will reimburse actual travel, lodging and food expenses up to $750.
  • Winners will be announced at www.ndsu.edu/music/fissinger/index on August 1, 2016.
  • The first prize winner may be offered a contract from Pavane Publishing to place their composition in the Jo Ann Miller Choral Series. The second prize piece will be considered for publication.

Judging Panel

  • Jo Ann Miller, Choral Activities, NDSU
  • Michael Weber, Choral Activities, NDSU
  • Charlette Moe, Choral Activities, NDSU
  • Dale Warland, Dale Warland Singers
  • Allan Petker, Pavane Publishing

Submission Guidelines

  • Include name, address, phone number(s), and email address when making payment via NDSU Marketplace.
  • Scores may be submitted by:
    • Sibelius or
    • PDF (mp3 may be included, but is not required)
  • Submissions must be submitted via email by 11:59 PM on June 1, 2016.
  • Email compositions to:

Links of Interest

Previous Recipients

Edwin Fissinger Biography

Dale Warland

Pavane Publishing


Fine Arts at NDSU | Challey School of Music | Theater | Visual Arts | Calendar | Admission | Contact Us | Box Office
NDSU | Phonebook | Campus Map | Search NDSU | Directory | Faculty Resources

Pinterest YouTube Twitter Facebook CalendarRSS