NDSU music students win at state MTNA competition

October 30, 2015

Several NDSU saxophone students were named winners in the Music Teachers National Association state collegiate music competitions held in Valley City on Oct. 24.

Eric Pelletier, senior music education major from Bismarck, was named first place winner in the Young Artist Solo woodwind competition. He competed against students from Minot State University.

In addition, the Gold Star Saxophone Quartet was named winner at the collegiate chamber music competition. The quartet's members are: Taylor Eichinger, soprano (Blaine, Minn.); Austin Yri, alto (Bismarck, N.D.); Lane Flaten, tenor (Blaine, Minn.); and Zachary Sorenson, baritone (Blaine, Minn.). All are music education majors at the Challey School of Music from the saxophone studio of Matthew Patnode.

The North Dakota state winners advance to the midwest central level of competition held in Wichita, Kansas, in January. Winners from the regional competition advance to the national competition. NDSU has had two saxophone quartet groups compete at the national level, in 2003 and in 2006, where the NDSU quartet took third place nationally.

MTNA was founded by Theodore Presser and in 1876 with the purpose of advancing the value of music study and music-making to society while supporting the careers and professionalism of teachers of music. MTNA hosts competitions for private and college students at the state, national and regional levels.

Performing Arts at NDSU | Challey School of Music | Theater | Visual Arts | Calendar | Admission | Contact Us | Box Office
NDSU | Phonebook | Campus Map | Search NDSU | Directory | Faculty Resources

Pinterest YouTube Twitter Facebook CalendarRSS