Three faculty members from Pharmacy Practice selected for award

The faculty teaching team of Drs. Heidi N. Eukel, Jeanne E. Frenzel, and Elizabeth T. Skoy from the NDSU Department of Pharmacy Practice were selected for the 2018 Award for Excellence in Course Assessment by the NDSU Office of Teaching and Learning.

They were awarded the Excellence in Course Assessment Award for the Pharmacy Practice Laboratory I (PHRM 351L) course they co-teach.

Dr. Jill Motschenbacher, associate director of the Office of Teaching and Learning, stated that “Drs. Eukel, Frenzel, and Skoy were selected for the award because of the quality and variety of formative and summative assessments used in their class, which focus on both individual and team learning. The team demonstrated that ongoing instructional change has occurred, and is occurring, in the classroom as a result of assessing student learning. Their assessment plan was organized, focused, adaptable over time, and demonstrated the continual flow between teaching, assessment, and student learning.”

Drs. Eukel, Frenzel, and Skoy will receive a $500 prize to use toward a professional development opportunity of their choice.

"Faculty members in pharmacy practice strive to enhance and ensure optimum outcomes for student learning," said Marketa Marvanova, PharmD, PhD, and chair of the Department of Pharmacy Practice in the NDSU School of Pharmacy. "This award recognizes the commitment of Drs. Eukel, Skoy and Frenzel to prepare the next generation of pharmacists."

Additional nominees for the 2018 Excellence in Course Assessment Award were: Dr. Loren Baranko from the Department of Animal Science, nominated by Dr. Jeanette Hoffman and Dr. Kenneth Magel from the Department of Computer Science and Operations Research, nominated by Dr. Brian Slator.

The Excellence in Course Assessment Award was established by the NDSU Office of Teaching and Learning in 2017 to honor individuals or small teams for creative and thorough methods of assessment in individual courses or a series of consecutive courses. The award promotes sharing of outstanding assessment models with the North Dakota State University (NDSU) community. For more information about this award visit,





Top of page