NDSU Mathematics Faculty and Graduate Students Receive Research Awards

Fargo, N.D. Mariangel Alfonseca, assistant professor of mathematics at NDSU, was awarded a three-year research grant from the National Science Foundation. Alfonseca's research applies Fourier techniques to the study of convex bodies, which have central importance in problems of optimization and linear programming.

Sean Sather-Wagstaff, assistant professor of mathematics, received the 2011 College of Science and Mathematics Excellence in Research Award on April 15. He was recognized for his work in commutative algebra and homological algebra. "Sean was widely known early on for his prowess in commutative algebra. He is widely considered one of the brightest rising stars in the field," wrote Jim Coykendall, James A. Meier professor of mathematics, in a letter of nomination. He noted Sather-Wagstaff has published or submitted 29 papers since joining the NDSU faculty in 2007.

Saeed Nasseh and Benjamin Anderson, both mathematics graduate students, were awarded two NDSU graduate school dissertation fellowships. Sather-Wagstaff is their adviser.

Lindsay Erickson won the college's graduate research award, which recognizes significant contributions to the student's scientific discipline as evidenced by publications, grants and/or recognition by the individual's professional organizations or community. Erickson's adviser is Warren Shreve.

Maxx Kureczko received the college's graduate teaching award. It recognizes outstanding performance in the classroom at the undergraduate or graduate level as indicated by knowledge, organization and presentation of the subject matter in an interesting and stimulating fashion, with continued impact or influence on the students.

The recipients of the awards were determined by the College Nominations and Awards Committee and the dean of the college.

Top of page