NDSU Associate Professor Receives 2012 Young Investigator Award

Fargo, N.D. – Sivaguru Jayaraman, associate professor of chemistry and biochemistry at NDSU, is the recipient of the Sigma Xi Scientific Research Society 2012 Young Investigator Award. The prestigious award recognizes excellence in research and alternates yearly between scientists in physical sciences, mathematics and engineering in even numbered years and life and social sciences in odd numbered years.

The award is presented to Jayaraman for his research program that uses light to initiate chemical reactions and control photoreactivity in the excited state using molecular design and nanoconfinement. The Young Investigator Award includes $5,000 and a certificate of recognition.

Gregory Cook, chair of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, nominated Jayaraman. Letters of support from Mukund Sibi, University Distinguished Professor, and Kevin McCaul, dean of the College of Science and Mathematics, also were provided.

Jayaraman joined NDSU faculty in 2006 and in 2011 was promoted to associate professor. Jayaraman was honored with the 2010 Excellence in Research Award and the 2011 Excellence in Teaching award, both from the NDSU College of Science and Mathematics. Most recently, Jayaraman was named winner of the 2012 Peltier Award for Innovation in Teaching.

Founded in 1886, Sigma Xi is the international honor society of research scientists and engineers, with more than 500 chapters at colleges and universities, government laboratories and industry research centers. Membership is by invitation, in recognition of research potential or achievement. Since the society’s inception, more than 200 Sigma Xi members have received the Nobel Prize. In addition to publishing American Scientist, the non-profit society awards hundreds of grants annually to student researchers and sponsors a variety of programs that support science and engineering.

NDSU is recognized as one of the nation's top 108 public and private universities by the Carnegie Commission on Higher Education.

Top of page