Student Government at North Dakota State University is composed of three branches - the Executive, Legislative and Judicial branches.

Executive Branch

The Executive Branch is made up of the Student Body President and Vice President, as well as, the executive team. The executive team includes the Executive and Assistant Executive Commissioners of Finance, Executive Commissioner of Academic and Student Affairs, Executive and Assistant Executive Commissioners of External Affairs, Executive and Assistant Executive Commissioners of the Congress of Student Organizations, Executive Commissioner of Public Relations, Executive Commissioner of Technology and the Administrative Assistant and Vice Chair.

The Student Body President and Vice President are elected to a one-year term each spring by a campus-wide student vote. The President and Vice President then seek applications for the executive team. There is an interview process and then the best candidates are hired to serve a one-year term beginning in the spring.

The Executive Branch also includes the commissions that the executive commissioners oversee. They include finance, congress of student organizations, public relations, academic and student affairs, external affairs and technology. All commissions except finance and CSO are open to any students at NDSU to join. More information can be found under each commission’s individual page on the left side of the Student Government homepage. If you wish to join a commission, please email the executive commissioner and they would be happy to help.

Legislative Branch (Student Senate)

The Legislative Branch is made up of the Student Senate, which is composed of 33 student senators who represent various residential and academic districts on campus, including both undergraduate and graduate students. The Vice President of the Student Body serves as the President of the Student Senate. The senate meets each Sunday night to propose, debate, pass or fail legislation that directly affects each student at NDSU. Student Senators also travel at least once a semester to the North Dakota Student Association to discuss legislation with students from other universities in North Dakota. They also must attend a student organization meeting once a semester to discuss projects they are working on and any legislation that will affect them.

Applications for new senators will be sent out at the beginning of each semester via the NDSU ANNOUNCEment Listserv. Current openings are listed on the Student Senate page of the Student Government website. Once an application has been submitted, candidates will be asked to interview with the appointments committee. The best candidate will be chosen to serve their district from their date of appointment until the student body elections in the spring.

Spring student body elections also elect Student Senators. Applications to be on the ballot are available on Blackboard. Students need 25 signatures from their intended district to be placed on the ballot.

Judicial Branch

The Student Court makes up the Judicial Branch of NDSU Student Government. The Court meets on most Sunday evenings and is composed of 7 Associate Justices, 1 Assistant Justice, and 1 Chief Justice. NDSU students are notified of Court openings through the ANNOUNCEment Listserv and can then fill out an application for the Court. Once an application is submitted, an interview process takes place. The best candidates are then selected to serve on the Student Court.


Top of page