Content | Navigation |

On-Line Masters

The Master's Degree in Community Development is offered through the Great Plains Interactive Distance Education Alliance (IDEA).  The Great Plains IDEA is a consortium of eleven universities offering full on-line graduate programs.  Universities participating in the Community Development Master's Degree program include North Dakota Sate University, Iowa State University, Kansas State University, University of Nebraska - Lincoln, and South Dakota State University.  For more information about the program, see

For more information about the Community Development Master's Degree program at North Dakota State University, contact:

Dr. Chris Whitsel
Sociology and Anthropology Department
NDSU, Dept. 2350
PO Box 6050. 428D4 Minard Hall
Fargo, ND  58108-6050
telephone: 701-231-5846


 Upon successful completion of the Master's Degree in Community Development the student will be able to:

  1. Apply critical thinking skills to understanding and evaluating how communities work and take action, as well as how to use, design and evaluate tools and strategies to assist communities in making change.
  2. Have a broad conceptual view of community and organizational decision-making processes and strategies and identify, use, design, and evaluate tools and strategies for promotion broad-based decision making and action.
  3. Apply critical thinking skills to identifying, using, designing, and evaluating strategies to improve economic, social, cultural and environmental conditions.
  4. Have a broad conceptual view of the need to communities to balance development among all the community capitals and identify, use, design and evaluate strategies to assist communities and organizations in seeking balance.
  5. Appreciate the norms of behavior for the profession.


The requirements for the 36 credit Master's Degree program consists of:

Six core, required courses (16 credits):

  • CED 709 Community Development Orientation (1 credit)
  • CED 711 Community Development I: Principles and Strategies of Community Change (3 credits)
  • CED 713 Community Development II: Organizing for Community Change (3 credits)
  • CED 715 Community Analysis (Introduction to Methods) (3 credits)
  • CED 717 Community and Regional Economic Analysis (3 credits)
  • CED 719 Community and Natural Resource Management (3 credits)

Five 3-credit courses from at least two of the specialization tracks (15 credits)

  • Natural Resources Management Track
  • Working with Native Communities Track
  • Building Economic Capacity Track
  • Non-Profit Management Track

General Electives (3 credits)

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

North Dakota State University
Sociology and Anthropology Department: +1 (701) 231-8657
Fax: +1 (701) 231-5118
Campus Address: Minard Hall 428, Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing Address: Dept. 2350, PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Site manager: Department of Sociology and Anthropology

Last Updated: Tuesday, September 03, 2019 8:14:45 AM
Privacy Statement