Content | Navigation |

Soil Science


The Faculty

The Department of Soil Science faculty is involved in teaching, research and extension. They provide expertise in the following specialized areas:

  1. soil health
  2. environmental soil science
  3. soil genesis, morphology and classification
  4. soil fertility, fertilizers and plant nutrition
  5. soil chemistry
  6. soil physics and hydrology
  7. soil management and conservation
  8. agricultural meteorology and climatology

Our Soil Science Department, in reality, is the Soil, Water and Atmospheric Sciences Department. Our faculty are actively engaged in teaching and research in all of these areas.

Dr. David Hopkins is in the Soil Classification and Genesis Division of the department. He is the instructor for our Soil Genesis (Soil 444/644) course and Advanced Soil Genisis (Soil 784). Dr. Hopkins also works with Range Science to improve our understanding of how soil properties control the distribution of native plant communities.

Dr. Frank CaseyDr. Tom DeSutter and Dr. Larry Cihacek are our Environmental Soil Scientists. Dr. DeSutter teaches our Soils and Land Use course (Soil 410/610) and Environmental Field Instrumentation and Sampling course (Soil 721).  Dr. DeSutter studies application of industrial by-products to soils; fate and transport of manure-borne hormones in swine production facilities, distribution of mercury in surface and subsurface soils, instrumentation for measuring soil physical and biological parameters; and soil salinity and sodicity. Dr. Casey teaces Soils and Pollution (Soil 480/680). Dr. Casey studies transport of nutrients and pesticides and how to prevent pollution. Dr. Cihacek studies in situ reactions of nutrients and potential pollutants and their interaction with soil organic matter. Dr. Cihacek teaches our Soil Fertility and Fertilzers course (Soil 322), Soil and Plant Analysis (465/665) and Soil Chemistry (Soil 755).

Dr. R. Jay Goos teaches the Introduction to Soil Science course (Soil 210). Dr. Goos studies fertilizer activity and plant growth.

Dr. Amitava Chatterjee teaches Soil Ecology (Soil 321).   Dr. Chatterjeet studies soil fertility in sugarbeet-based crop production system, greenhouse gas emissions, tillage and soil carbon sequestration, soil biogeochemical processes and nutrient cycling, and microbial community structure

Dr. Adnan Akyuz is the State Climatologist for North Dakota. He teaches Soil 217 – Introduction to Meteorology and Climatology and Soil 447/647 - Microclimatology. He also serves as Director of the North Dakota Agricultural Weather Network, (NDAWN) which consists of 66 weather stations that monitor weather conditions continuously and provides hourly and daily summaries.

Dr. Dave Franzen, Extension Soil Scientist, assists in teaching a course he helped initiate, ASM 454/654, Principles of Site-Specific Farming. The course is led by John Nowsatzki of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering. He also guests lectures in Dr. Burton Johnson’s PS 225 - “Principles of Crop Production” course in the Plant Sciences Department.

Dr. Abbey Wick, Extension Soil Health Specialist, is involved in the development of a series of “train the trainer” workshops on soil health.  These workshops focus on providing current information and training on high priority soil issues in the state of North Dakota, including but not limited to salinity, sodicity, and biology.

Dr. Ann-Marie Fortuna will begin teaching Soil Ecology (Soil 321) in the fall of 2013 and develop an additional graduate course in Soil-Plant–Microbial Interactions. Her research focuses on microbial and soil processes regulating nutrient cycling, soil health and global climate change in agricultural and grassland systems. Dr. Fortuna’s program promotes the use of soil health indicators as a measure of the effectiveness of remediation and land management strategies in saline and sodic soils.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Soil Science Department
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-8901 - Fax: (701) 231-7861
Campus address: Walster Hall 106
Mailing address: Dept 7680 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Nathan.Derby@NDSU.EDU

Last Updated: Monday, May 11, 2015 8:48:45 AM
Privacy Statement