Content | Navigation |

Staff Senate


Gunkelman Award


Mary McCannel Gunkelman Award Recognition Ceremony

IMPORTANT UPDATE: The ceremony will be taking place on Zoom. Please see below for the Zoom information.

Thursday, October 15, 2020  //  3 to 4 p.m. 


Or join meeting with the following methods


Phone one-tap

Phone one-tap:

US: +19294362866,,93255777781# or +13017158592,,93255777781#


Join by Telephone

For higher quality, dial a number based on your current location.


US : +1 929 436 2866 or +1 301 715 8592 or +1 312 626 6799 or +1 669 900 6833 or +1 253 215 8782 or +1 346 248 7799

Meeting ID:

932 5577 7781

* All NDSU faculty, staff, students, media, and guests from the community are welcome to attend this event.

You are invited to nominate a student or employee of NDSU whom you believe makes the most significant and unselfish contributions to creating a happy environment for the enjoyment of NDSU students. 

The recipient will be announced at the Mary McCannel Gunkelman Award Recognition Ceremony which is open to the campus community.

2020 Nominees



Katelyn Long - College of Ag, Food Systems, & Natural Resources

Runhao Wang - AES Plant Science Graduate Student

Alayna Osterman - College of Business

Ben Anderson - College of Ag, Food Systems, & Natural Resources

Cameron Dahlin - College of Engineering

Cole Hanson - College of Business

Hailey O’Conner - College of Arts, Humanities & Social Science

Larissa Feiring - College of Ag, Food Systems, & Natural Resources

Michaela Wood- College of Science & Mathematics

Nick Hendricks - College of Human Development & Education

Shelby Grabanski - College of Ag, Food Systems, & Natural Resources


Adam Marx - School of Education

Carl Dahlen - AES Animal Science

Charles Stevens - Management and Marketing

Cheryl Wachenheim - Agribusiness & Applied Econ.

David Buchanan - Deans Office, Agriculture

David Englund - Agribusiness & Applied Econ.

Edward Deckard - AES Plant Science

Erika Berg - Animal Science

Frayne Olson - Ext Agribusiness & Applied Econ.

Jeanne Hageman - Modern Languages

James Caton - Agribusiness & Applied Econ.

Jess Jung - Theatre Arts

Katherine Tulibaski - Management and Marketing

Leretta Smith - Sociology, Anthropology

Marc Baur - AES Animal Science

Maxx Kurekzko – Mathematics

Saleem Shaik – Agribusiness & Applied Econ.

Teri Undem – Pharmacy Practice


Adam Mead - Athletics

Betsy Carter - Student Success Programs

Brenda Deckard - Plant Sciences

James Kirsch - AES Animal Science

James Moos - ES Ag & Biosystems Eng.

Jennifer Carney - AES Agribusiness & Applied Econ.

Jerie Little - Microbiological Sciences

Jodie Haring- Pharmaceutical Sciences

Jordan DiPalma - MU Programming & Student Act.

Julie Bietz - AES Ag & Biosystems Eng.

Kali Christianson - Agribusiness & Applied Econ.

Kristi Weston - Deans Office, Health Professns

Nichole Askew- MU Programming & Student Act.

Stacey Nicklaus - Dining

Susan Council - Deans Office, Business

Tayt Rinehardt - Deans Office, Business

Wendy Bauman- Student Activities Office

Last Year's Winner

meghan yerhot and matt skoy

The 2019 Mary McCannel Gunkelman Award winner, Meghan Yerhot, with the 2018 Mary McCannel Gunkelman Award winner and ceremony emcee, Matthew Skoy. 

Award History

The Mary McCannel Gunkelman Recognition Award was established in January 1987, by the late John L. Gunkelman and his family in memory of Mrs. Gunkelman, who was a 1942 graduate of the College of Home Economics.

The purpose of this award is to honor the late Mary McCannel Gunkelman whose life, from the time she was a student on the campus of NDSU and throughout her unselfish life as a wife, mother, and active citizen in the Fargo-Moorhead community, found greatest expression and satisfaction in her contributions in creating an atmosphere of happiness for others to enjoy.

Mary was firmly dedicated to the principle that a student would be more apt to attain his or her full potential if he or she were working and living in an enjoyable environment. She further believed that the more enjoyable the campus and programs of NDSU, the better university it would be in the future.

It is in the firm endorsement of Mary’s belief that this award was established and continues today.

2019 Nominees

2019 nominees

Faculty, staff, and student nominees for the 2019 Mary McCannel Gunkelman Award (25 individuals not pictured).

Past Award Winners

Congratulations to all past recipients. Thanks for your significant and unselfish contributions and helping create a happy environment for the enjoyment of NDSU students.

2019 Recipient  |  Meghan Yerhot

2018 Recipient  |  Matthew Skoy

2017 Recipient  |  Gabriel Eronmosele

2016 Recipient  |  Suzan J. Wolter

2015 Recipient  |  Ronda Klubben

2014 Recipient  |  LaVon S. Whipple

2013 Recipient  |  Kimberly Buckley 

2012 Recipient  |  Noah D. McBroom  

2011 Recipient  |  Christopher Suriano

2010 Recipient  |  Catherine Gronland

2009 Recipient  |  Theresa Anderson

2008 Recipient  |  David L. Berryhill

2007 Recipient  |  Jacinda L. Wollan

2006 Recipient  |  James Billups

2005 Recipient  |  Barbara Laschkewitsch

2004 Recipient  |  Aquina Beck

2003 Recipient  |  Donna J. Alby

2002 Recipient  |  Oscar Blaskowski

2001 Recipient  |  John Weitzel

2000 Recipient  |  Karen Arnell

1999 Recipient  |  Brenda Deckard

1998 Recipient  |  Lisa K. Nolan

1997 Recipient  |  Nick Moret

1996 Recipient  |  Louise Heinz

1995 Recipient  |  Carol Nelson

1994 Recipient  |  Marilyn Hetland

1993 Recipient  |  Nancy Stroh

1992 Recipient  |  Jean M. Kelly

1991 Recipient  |  Mary Poirier

1990 Recipient  |  Helga Schuschke

1989 Recipient  |  Joan D. Olson

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-8627
Physical/delivery address: 1340 Administration Ave., Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing address: NDSU Dept. 1040 / PO Box 6050 / Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Site manager:

Last Updated: Thursday, October 08, 2020 9:48:47 AM
Privacy Statement