Content | Navigation |

Two different dates due to scheduling conflicts

  • October 7, 2003
  • October 8, 2003

Technology Fee Advisory Committee Mtg - (DRAFT)
October 7, 12-1 p.m. & Oct 8 2003 1-2 p.m.
Memorial Union, Crest Room

Members Present:

Chair - Sudhir Mehta, Kevin Brooks, Jane Cumber, Jeff Gerst, Kalpana Katti, Tom Moberg, Ryan Sandness, Marc Wallman

10/8/03: Chair - Sudhir Metha, Otto Borchert, Rian Nostrom, David Wittrock, CathyHanson

Members Absent:
Jerry Covington, Craig Schnell (ex-officio)

To accommodate scheduling conflicts, two separate organizational meetings were held.

Comments from Sudhir Mehta:
For each of the two organizational meetings, Sudhir welcomed TFAC members, asked for introductions and gave a brief overview of the committee's purpose. There are 12 voting members on the committee - Five students, three faculty, and three staff (one student yet to be assigned).

In past years, TFAC typically received 3-4 fall proposals, requesting less than $100,000 in funding. This fall, there are 16 submitted proposals asking for over $400,000.

Sudhir shared comments about the challenges of the review process in lieu of available funding. He has visited with Provost Schnell about adjusting the budget to allow more money to be spent this fall if necessary.

Sudhir distributed the proposal packets and explained how the Group Decision Center is used to rate and rank the proposals and elicit discussion. Sudhir stressed the importance of using the discussion/evaluation form to help in analyzing strengths and weaknesses in the proposals. Members are to review each proposal on its own merit - keeping in mind the broader scope. Renewals and new proposals are not considered any different. Members each chose 1-2 proposals of which they would become primary reviewers.

No further business, meeting adjourned
Respectfully submitted,

Cathy Hanson

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-7890 / Fax: (701) 231-7599
Campus address: Bison Court West 104
Mailing address: NDSU Dept. 5310 / PO Box 6050 / Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Technology Fee Advisory Committee

Last Updated: Monday, August 08, 2011 1:36:53 PM
Privacy Statement