Content | Navigation |

Technology Fee Advisory Committee Mtg
October 5, 2004 Memorial Union, Badlands

Members Present:
Sudhir Mehta, Holly-Bastow-Shoop, Otto Borchert, Kevin Brooks, Jane Cumber, Jeff Gerst, Cathy Hanson, Brian Hokkanen, Kalpana Katti, Joe Mathern, Tom Moberg, Rian Nostrom, Josh Swanson, Marc Wallman, David Wittrock

Members Absent:
Sara Egge, Dustin Massett, Craig Schnell (ex-officio)

Comments from Sudhir Mehta:
Sudhir welcomed everyone and introductions were made. He indicated that the recommendations the committee made for last spring's funding had all been approved.

The student technology fee was raised this $5 dollars this semester as per this committee's recommendation from last spring. [$5/per semester (six terms) over the next three years starting Fall 2004 (will be at $85.00 /semester by 2008).]

Budget data was distributed showing approximate income and expenses for FY04 and FY05 as of September 21, 2004. Carryover from year to year should preferably be over $300,000 and is used as a contingency for special needs. Typically we allocate around $100,000 for funding fall proposals. Twelve proposals were received and totaled $771,082 in funding requests.

Last year, ITS submitted a proposal to move the campus to wireless. The Computer Information Technology Planning and Goals (CITPG) recommended moving forward with this beginning Spring 05. Various funding models are being discussed for this project. The modem pool will cease to exist as of spring 2005 and the savings of $150,000 (partially funded through Tech Fee) could be put toward wireless. Tom Moberg addressed the committee indicating that plans are in place to wire various buildings over the next several years (FY05 ? 6 buildings, FY06 ?12 buildings, FY07 ?12 buildings). ITS has not launched any publicity for the modem pool going away as of yet, but such a campaign is in the works.

If and when we get wireless classrooms, Jeff Gerst suggested we might want to look Silicone Chalk, this is a tool to assist student learning. The URL is and there are links to a number of virtual demonstrations.

Proposal discussion:
Sudhir discussed the proposal review process, indicating that this year he was distributed the proposals to the members electronically rather than hardcopy. He asked how that seemed to work. After discussion, members indicated they preferred receiving them all together in hard copy.

To help the review process to be more effective and efficient, each proposal has been assigned a primary reviewer.

  • Primary reviewer should read the assigned proposal through thoroughly 
  • Contact the project director to discuss his/her proposal for a greater understanding of what the proposal is all about (suggest you schedule you call for appt soon) 
  • Lead the committee during the review process in the discussion regarding the proposal 
  • As committee members-- prior to the meeting, direct any questions you have to the primary reviewer for answers. The reviewer should seek the answer and respond back.

Fall proposals 2004  primary reviewers:


Kaplana KattiReza MalekiIndustrial & Mfg. EngineeringTechnology Equipment for Improving Instruction and Student Learning in Industrial and Manufacturing Automation
0408Kevin BrooksSteven Venette and Deanna SellnowCommunicationGraduate Teaching Assistant Technology Lab
0409Marc WallmanSteven VenetteGDCGDC Software Support
0410Joe MathernSteven VenetteGDCGDC Availability Expansion
0411Otto BorchertThrasher, Mueller, RossMusic Dept.The Digital Music Library: Improving Access to Materials through Streaming Audio
0412Jeff GerstVess HalburPharm. PracticeUsing PDAs to Enhance the Pharmacy Curriculum
0413Josh Swanson Bunnie Johnson-MesseltCounseling Center and Disability ServicesAlternative Access to Educational Materials
0414Rian Nostrum Gary Liguori HNESHPER 100 Out of Class Experience
0415 Dustin MassettDarsono TjokroamidjojoIMESustaining Advance Logistics Efforts at NDSU
0416Sara EggeRichard ShawCenter for WritersNotebook Computer and portable projector for in-class workshops
0417Brian Hokkanen Ronald Stammen School of Educ. Improved Instruction by Digitalizing Documents
0418Jane CumberAngie RalstonWellness CenterWellness Center Computer Cluster

Next meeting will be at the Group Decision Center to review proposals on either Oct 26 or 27.

No further business, meeting adjourned

Respectfully submitted,
Cathy Hanson

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-7890 / Fax: (701) 231-7599
Campus address: Bison Court West 104
Mailing address: NDSU Dept. 5310 / PO Box 6050 / Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Technology Fee Advisory Committee

Last Updated: Monday, August 08, 2011 1:36:53 PM
Privacy Statement