Content | Navigation |

Fall Organizational Meeting & Distribution of Proposals

Technology Fee Advisory Committee
Meeting Notes –Wednesday, Oct 1, 2008
Mandan Room Union, 3 p.m.

 Members Present: Ann Denton, Brian Fier, Gary Fisher, Peter Gregory, Jim Hammond, Chris Hart, Abram Jackson, Christopher McEwen (alternate), Nathan Nerenz, Rian Nostrum, Michael Thrasher, Arun Yadav David Whitrock (The names of voting members are presented in regular type.  Jeff Gerst-chair, Cathy Hanson, The names of non-voting members are presented in italics type.)

Members Absent: Andrew Brown (alternative), Brian Fier, Ben Dotzenrod, Britt McAlister

General Discussion: 

Jeff Gerst welcomed everyone and introductions were made. A special welcome was made to to the new committee members: Jim Hammond (replacing Kevin Brooks); Michael Thrasher (replacing Kalpana Katti); Britt McAlister (replacing Marc Wallman);  New student members; Ben Dotzenrod, Andrew Brown (alternate); Christopher Hart; Nathan Nerenz, Arun Yadav.

In addition to the six students already on the committee we are going to add two more who will serve as voting alternatives. We are still waiting to confirm the name of one more student. Student members going off the committee are Lalita Joyoti, and Geoffrey Childress.

Proposal Distribution: 
Jeff briefly reviewed the history of the TFAC and the transitioning of how the funding cycle. He indicated that we have approximately $1,210,000 to spend. For the Fall 2008 cycle, we have received 7 Action Plans requests which total $1,270,000 in funding. Jeff explained that we distribute the proposals today, assign primary and secondary reviewers to each of the proposals and ask that the reviewers contact the project director of the proposals to gain further background/knowledge about the proposal to share with the committee. He indicated a meeting would be scheduled in the Group Decision Center where we would come together to discuss the information via their software, rate the proposals, then rank them and finally make a funding recommendation to the VP for Information Technology. Further information would be forthcoming via e-mail regarding the process.

Project Reviewers:

Project #Primary reviewerSecondary reviewer
0901Arun YadavRian Nostrum
0902Abram JacksonNate Nerenz
0903Anne DentonChris Hart
0904Michael ThrasherChris McEwen
0905Gary FischerChris McEwen
0906Jim HammondPeter Gregory
0907Brian FierPeter Gregory

Reviewers were asked to make contact soon with the project proposers.

Other comments:
Jeff shared and referenced other information that he felt might be of interest to the group. An ECAR research bulletin entitled Students-The Real Angel Investor. The research explores how Louisiana State University and other colleges and universities have overcome barriers inherent in new technology adoption by including students in relevant conversations and stakeholder processes. Related discussion covers linkages between strategic planning for IT, strategic investment using student technology fees as a vehicle for investment, and inclusion of students in IT governance as an expression of core values of the academy.

Jeff also noted that in our 2007-08 annual report, 21% of our total IT budget comes from technology fee funds.

There was discussion with regard to revising the progress report form so it included more detailed information as to how the money was being spent. Abram Jackson had indicated he would be working on creating that form.

By-Laws Discussion:
Last year, the committee began working on By-Laws for the TFAC. With the end of the year, this became a carryover item. TFAC student leaders have been working with Jeff on revisions and a draft version (V 2.1) was circulated. Jeff indicated that work needs to be done to further refine some of the language. The document is on the TFAC Blackboard site and members were encouraged to review and make comments prior to the next meeting, as this would be the discussion item.


No further discussion, meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,
Cathy Hanson, recorder

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-7890 / Fax: (701) 231-7599
Campus address: Bison Court West 104
Mailing address: NDSU Dept. 5310 / PO Box 6050 / Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Technology Fee Advisory Committee

Last Updated: Monday, August 08, 2011 1:36:53 PM
Privacy Statement