Content | Navigation |

TFAC By-Laws Discussion

Technology Fee Advisory Committee
Meeting Notes –Wednesday, Oct 22, 2008
Mandan Room Union, 3 p.m.

Members Present: Ann Denton, Brian Fier, Peter Gregory, Jim Hammond, Abram Jackson, Nathan Nerenz, Rian Nostrum, Michael Thrasher, Arun Yadav (The names of voting members are presented in regular type.  Jeff Gerst-chair, Cathy Hanson, The names of non-voting members are presented in italics type.)

Members Absent: Andrew Brown (alternative), Ben Dotzenrod, Gary Fisher, Chris Hart, Abram Jackson, Britt McAlister, Christopher McEwen (alternate), David Whitrock

By-Laws Discussion:
Jeff Gerst welcomed everyone and indicated this meeting was called to talk about the By-Laws. TFAC student leaders have been working with Jeff on revisions and Jeff projected on the screen the latest draft version (V 2.2) with suggested language changes noted in red. Most of these involve changing“will” to “shall.”

There was discussion regarding when the offices needed to be filled. A recommendation was made to change the wording in Section II stating “offices to be filled at the close of the regular April meeting” to “close of first Fall meeting.” 

Section VIII: Questions were raised about the 9 voting member quorum. This relates to whether committee members who may be submitting proposals are eligible to vote. It was determined if a committee member submitted a proposal they would be ineligible to vote for that particular proposal. There was a recommendation to change the language to in section VIII to “2/3 of eligible voters…”

Section VII: Change “commission” to “committee.”

Other Comments:
Jeff asked if there were any questions/feedback with regard to meetings with the proposal project directors. Rian indicated he has gotten questions about when they might hear about the status of their proposal. It might be nice to be able to indicate some type of time-line to the process. When can they expect to hear? Maybe even a status report about where in the process is the committee at.

Jeff indicated that members should be inputting their review comments into the online GDC ThinkTank software prior to our next meeting. The feedback submitted via online will serve to help facilitate further discussion during the review process. Our next meet is tentatively scheduled for next Wednesday, Oct 29, from 3-5 p.m. 

No further discussion, meeting adjourned.

Respectfully submitted,
Cathy Hanson, recorder

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-7890 / Fax: (701) 231-7599
Campus address: Bison Court West 104
Mailing address: NDSU Dept. 5310 / PO Box 6050 / Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Technology Fee Advisory Committee

Last Updated: Monday, August 08, 2011 1:36:53 PM
Privacy Statement