Content | Navigation |

Class Notes


  • Janet (Nieuwsma) Melby, BS ’72 child development and family relations, BA ’72, sociology, MS ’74, child development and family relations, was named the 2018 recipient of the P&S Distinguished Achievement in Administration Award by the College of Human Sciences at Iowa State University. She is an ISU adjunct associate professor and program manager for the Child Welfare Research and Training Project, a collaboration between the Iowa Department of Human Services and ISU.
  • Jonathan Crump, BS ’84 architectural studies, BARCH ’84, architecture, was promoted to associate vice president at Dewberry’s Tulsa, Oklahoma, office. He has nearly 35 years of experience, serving as design director for the firm’s national architectural practice. He has completed numerous projects, including the Tandy Medical Academic Building on Oklahoma State University’s Center for Health Sciences campus and the expansion of Rosa Parks Elementary School in Tulsa. He is a member of the American Institute of Architects.
  • Clara Osowski, BMA ’08 music arts, received the $25,000 McKnight Fellowship for Musiciansaward. She is a mezzo-soprano from Brooklyn Center, Minnesota. She became the first-ever American prize-winner when she placed second at Thomas Quasthoff's International Das Lied Competition in Heidelberg, Germany, and she was awarded the Richard Tauber Prize for the best interpretation of Schubert Lieder at the Wigmore Hall/Kohn Foundation Song Competition in London. She will be on the faculty at the Aspen Music Festival's Professional Choral Institute in August.
  • Lance Loken, BS ’85 earth science, MS ’91, soil science, recently attended the National Environmental Information Association conference in San Diego, California. The annual conference examined asbestos, indoor air quality and environmental topics focusing on the latest activities in the industry. He is president of Western Plains Consulting Inc., Bismarck, North Dakota, and national chair of the National EIA Environmental Management Systems and Environmental Site Assessments Technical Committee. He also is on the national task force working on the ASTM Phase I Standard Practice update.
  • Susan McPherson, MEd ’17 educational leadership, was named Teacher of the Year for the Northern Cass School District. She teacher sixth grade English and sixth through eighth grade Advancement via Individual Determination, known as AVID.
  • Christopher Brossart, BS ’02 crop and weed science, was elected to a three-year term as a director of the North Dakota Soybean Council. He is a farmer from Wolford, North Dakota, who represents 13 northwest North Dakota counties.
  • Michael Schlosser, BS ’02 plant protection, was elected to a three-year term as a director of the North Dakota Soybean Council. He is a farmer who represents LaMoure and Dickey Counties.
  • Dave Eilertson, BS ’94 civil engineering, joined Sandman Structural Engineers, Moorhead, as the precast concrete division lead. He is a licensed engineer, registered in five states.
  • Timothy How, BS ’10 journalism broadcast communication technology, was promoted to vice president of relations/project management at Bell Bank in south Fargo.
  • Daniel Spiegelberg, BS ’72 civil engineering, was awarded the Office of the Secretary of Defense Medal for Exceptional Civilian Service during ceremonies at the Missile Defense Agency, Huntsville, Alabama. He was cited for his accomplishments in environmental support to missile defense system flight testing and deployment. He retired from the Missile Defense Agency in 2017 after eight years as an environmental project manager. He previously retired from two engineering companies and from active duty in the U.S. Navy Civil Engineer Corps. He lives in Madison, Alabama.


Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-6101 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Library 16
Mailing address: Dept 6020 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Steve Bergeson

Last Updated: Tuesday, June 20, 2023 7:18:28 AM
Privacy Statement