Content | Navigation |

Class Notes


  • Leah Juelke, BA ’06 English education, MEd ’12, education, was named as the 2018 North Dakota Teacher of the Year. The announcement was made Sept. 28 by Gov. Doug Burgum and Department of Public Instruction superintendent Kirsten Baesler. In addition, Juelke was selected as the 2017 Fargo Public Schools Teacher of the Year; Communications, Speech and Theatre Association of North Dakota Teacher of the Year; and Debate Coach of the Year. She is the English learner language arts instructor at Fargo South High School.
  • Jordann Brandner, BA ’14 psychology, has been selected for the National Science Foundation’s Graduate Research Fellowship Program. About 2,000 students were named from approximately 13,000 applicants. She is a graduate student and instructor of psychological sciences at Kansas State University, Manhattan.
  • Dennis Vonasek, BS ’88 environmental design, BArch ’88, architecture, has transferred to the Washington, D.C., office of HGA Architects and Engineers as vice president and healthcare practice group leader. He will direct strategic business development and client relations for the office’s Healthcare Practice Group serving the mid-Atlantic region. He has been with HGA for15 years, and was most recently the healthcare practice group leader in the firm’s Minneapolis office.
  • Kathy Diekman, BS ’91 zoology, is director of Chahinkapa Zoo in Wahpeton, North Dakota.
  • Joseph E. Zawierucha, BS ’81 agronomy, is co-owner of Rush River Orchard and Bakery in El Paso Township of Wisconsin. The orchard features apples, grapes, plums, tart cherries, blueberries and a pumpkin patch.
  • Hao Zhang, MML ’16 transportation and logistics, is Midwest Motor Express’s chief officer of Asia operations. He is working in China to open the North Dakota company’s first international office as a way to beef up its contacts in Asia and help other companies tap into business opportunities in America’s Midwest.
  • Stephanie Lindemann, BS ’06 construction management, joined Eid-Co Homes in Fargo as a purchaser.
  • Kiah Schmalenberg, BS ’16 strategic communication, joined Park Co. realtors in Fargo. She is licensed in North Dakota and Minnesota.
  • Megan Myrdal, MS ’15 health, nutrition and exercise science, joined the NDSU Extension Service in Cass County as a family nutrition program extension agent.
  • Amy DeKok, BA ’01 political science, joined the North Dakota Schools Boards Association as an in-house legal counsel.


Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-6101 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Library 16
Mailing address: Dept 6020 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Steve Bergeson

Last Updated: Monday, October 03, 2022 12:06:31 PM
Privacy Statement