Content | Navigation |

Class Notes


  • Ryan Fugleberg, BS '12 environmental design, MArch '13, architecture, earned an honorable mention in the design competition for the St. Paul, Minnesota, chapter of the American Institute of Architects. This year’s design challenge 
was to create a 21st century
 recreation center on an existing site in St. Paul's Lowertown. He works for Pope Architects, St. Paul. 
  • Earl Olson, 82, MS '70 educational administration, was a teacher, counselor and assistant principal during his career in education. He worked at Kindred, Haynes and Wahpeton, North Dakota. He lived in Wahpeton.
  • Donald K. Nelsen, 71, BS '67 civil engineering, had a 32-year career as a project manager for Amoco, working on projects in Norway, Scotland, England and the U.S. He lived in Houston, Texas.
  • Sarah (Baertsch) Lutz, BS '05 child development and family science and pre-elementary education, was named the 2016 South Dakota Teacher of the Year. A statewide panel of educators chose Lutz from among five regional finalists. She is a third grade teacher at Stanley County Elementary School in Fort Pierre, South Dakota.
  • Merideth Sherlin, BS ’94, MA’03 mass communication, was named director of admission at NDSU following a national search.
  • Ellend J. Palmer, 93, FS '40 was a co-founder of Group Health, an early insurance company that later became a major health insurance provider. He also was a salesman for Bell Telephone Yellow Pages and later joined his wife in her business, Accent Realty. He lived in Fargo.
  • Carl Oberholtzer, BS '74 history, MEd '98, secondary education, was inducted into the Fargo North High School Hall of Fame. He is a former teacher at the school. He was a James Madison Fellow in 1995, a U.S. Presidential Scholar Award Teacher in 2003, and Gilder-Lehrman American North Dakota History Teacher of the Year in 2006. He also co-wrote and co-produced the Emmy Award-winning film, "Road to Little Rock."
  • John Oxton, BS '84 physical education, was inducted into the Fargo North High School Hall of Fame. He has been a teacher and coach for 31 years, first in Montana and then in Lakeville, Minnesota. One of his teams won the 1989 Class C State Championship in Montana. At Lakeville, his team won the Minnesota State Class AAAA Championship, earning him state Coach of the Year honors.
  • Daniel P. Smith, BS '87 electrical and electronic engineering, was inducted into the Fargo South High School Hall of Fame. He is considered a key member of a team from Red Canyon Software that designed and verified large programmable chips for the Orion Multipurpose Crew Vehicle spacecraft.
  • Ralph Manley, BS '82 physical education, was inducted into the Fargo South High School Hall of Fame. He was the swimming and diving coach at Mandan, North Dakota, High School, where he won four state girls and three state boys championships.


Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-6101 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Library 16
Mailing address: Dept 6020 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Steve Bergeson

Last Updated: Tuesday, June 20, 2023 7:18:28 AM
Privacy Statement