Content | Navigation |

Class Notes


Category: Class notes 1950s

  • Owen Brenden, BS ’58 mechanical engineering, writes that he attended his first Bison football game Dec. 3 at age 94. He watched the Bison defeat the University of Montana Grizzlies 49-26 in the FCS playoffs at the Fargodome. Brenden attended NDSU using the GI bill after returning home from the Korean War. He is from Minot, North Dakota.
  • J. Patrick Farrell, BS ’50 pharmacy, was recognized with a Governor's Commendation for 60 years of service to the pharmacy profession during ceremonies at the Oklahoma State Board of Pharmacy in Oklahoma City. At age 90, he is a part-time pharmacist at Rick's Pharmacy, Enid, Oklahoma.
  • Jerome Schaack, BS ’56, MS ’62 agricultural engineering,was inducted into the North Dakota Water Users Hall of Fame during the 55th annual Joint North Dakota Water Convention and Irrigation Expo. He was an engineer and supervisor with the U.S. Bureau of Reclamation, Garrison Diversity Conservancy District and North Dakota Irrigation Association.
  • Charles Huntley, BArch ’59, MArch ’63 architecture, was recognized as the “Unsung Hero of 2016” by the Rotary Club of Hudson, Wisconsin. The honor acnowledged his dedication of more than 50 years as a scout leader and other community volunteer work, including the Hudson Hospital, Hudson Parking Utility, Edison High School, St. Croix County Historical Society, American Institute of Architects and more than 35 years in Kiwanis Club. He was presented a Paul Morris Fellowship in Rotary International and an additional cash honorarium which was given to the YMCA for scholarships to children of deployed military personnel.
  • Syl Melroe, BS ’57 agricultural education, was named to the U.S. Army Reserve Officers’ Training Corps Cadet Hall of Fame. ROTC is celebrating 100 years and is honoring outstanding cadets from the past century. He is the former regional sales manager and vice president for international marketing for Melroe Co. He also is a former director of economic development for North Dakota.
  • Manny Carneri, MS '55 chemistry, reports he is enjoying retirement at his home in Miami Springs, Florida. He had a long career in management with Sherwin-Williams.
  • Jim Ozbun, BS '59 MS '61, soil science, was named interim president of Dickinson State University by the North Dakota Board of Higher Education. He is a former president of NDSU.
  • John Bollingberg, BS '55 agricultural mechanization, will be inducted into the North Dakota Agriculture Hall of Fame during this year’s North Dakota Winter Show in Valley City. He was a founder of the Northland Seed Company and a long-time member of the N.D. Ag Coalition, representing the North Dakota Edible Bean Growers Council. He has served on numerous state and national boards, including the North Dakota Farm Bureau, National Corn Growers Association and American Oat Association.
  • David Bruce Bartholomew, BS ’54 agricultural education, was selected to receive the George Washington Honor Medal by the Freedom Foundation. The judges are from national patriotic, service and civic clubs, veterans and educational organizations. He was nominated in the Community – Adult and Youth category. He lives in Dallas.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Vice President for University Relations
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-6101 - Fax: (701) 231-1989
Campus address: Library 16
Mailing address: Dept 6020 PO Box 6050, Fargo, ND 58108-6050
Page manager: Steve Bergeson

Last Updated: Tuesday, June 20, 2023 7:18:28 AM
Privacy Statement