Faculty and Staff

Our courses are taught to the highest standards by highly qualified faculty, researchers and national experts.

Directory - Faculty

Alan Kallmeyer - Professor and Chair

Office: Dolve 111 F
Phone: 701.231.8835
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Alan.Kallmeyer@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Theoretical, computational, and experimental aspects of deformation, fatigue, and fracture of engineering materials, with interests in both monolithic and composite materials.

Ali Amiri - Assistant Professor of Practice

Office: Dolve 102 D
Phone: 701.231.7215
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Ali.Amiri@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Fiber reinforced composite materials, sustainable composite materials for structural applications, nanomaterials and nanotechnology, polymer nanocomposites for structural applications, innovative additive manufacturing of plant-based materials, advanced materials.

Fardad Azarmi - Professor

Office: Dolve 111 D
Phone: 701.231.9784
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Fardad.Azarmi@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Thermal Spray Coatings, Cold Spraying, High Temperature Materials, Computational and Experimental Solid Mechanics, Advanced Manufacturing.

Jordi Estevadeordal - Associate Professor

Office: Dolve 101 E
Phone: 701.231.9223
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Jordi.Estevadeordal@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Advanced laser techniques, thermo-fluid and spray diagnostics, 3D Particle Image Velocimetry, phosphorescence, infrared thermography, filtered Rayleigh scattering.

Adam Gladen - Assistant Professor

Office: Dolve 101 A
Phone: 701.231.7315
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Adam.C.Gladen@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Renewable Energy, Solar Thermal Energy, Energy Storage - in particular Thermochemical Energy Storage, Thermodynamics, Solar Thermochemistry, Heat Transfer, Radiative Transfer in Participating Media, Solar Reactor Design.

Inbae Jeong - Assistant Professor

Office: CME 120 A
Phone: 701.231.4937
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Inbae.Jeong@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Robotics and Artificial Intelligence.

Long Jiang - Associate Professor

Office: Dolve 207
Phone: 701.231.9512
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Long.Jiang@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Nanoscale Materials Synthesis and Applications, Materials from Renewable Resources, Nanocomposites, Carbonaceous Materials, Polymeric Materials Processing and Functionalization.

Ghodrat Karami - Professor

Office: Dolve 208
Phone: 701.231.5859
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: G.Karami@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Computational Solid Mechanics, Finite and Boundary Elements, Composite Micro and Nanomechanics Analysis, Continuum Mechanics, Structural Mechanics, Nonlinear and Large Deformation Analysis, Thermoelastic Analysis.

Sumathy Krishnan - Professor

Office: Dolve 101 D
Phone: 701.231.7139
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Sumathy.Krishnan@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Solar thermal applications; Photvoltaic systems; Integrated renewable energy systems (wind, biomass, solar).

G.H. Nazari - Lecturer

Office: Dolve 101 B
Phone: 701.231.6493
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: G.Nazari@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Kinematics and Dynamics of Mechanical Systems, Machine Design, Solid Mechanics, and Fatigue of Engineering Materials.

Robert Pieri - Professor

Office: Dolve 210
Phone: 701.231.8673
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Robert.Pieri@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Mechanical Response of Materials, Manufacturing and Production, Mechanical Design.

Majura Selekwa - Associate Professor

Office: Dolve 102 B
Phone: 701.231.5667
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Majura.Selekwa@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Control Systems, Dynamics, Robotics & Mechatronic Systems.

Yildirim Bora Suzen - Associate Professor

Office: Dolve 102 C
Phone: 701.231.8302
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Bora.Suzen@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Computational Fluid Dynamics, Transition and Turbulence Modeling, Turbomachinery, Active/Adaptive Flow Control, High Performance Parallel Computing.

Xiangqing Annie Tangpong - Associate Professor

Office: Dolve 111 C
Phone: 701.231.8839
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Annie.Tangpong@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Vibrations, dynamics and friction: friction-vibration interaction; friction damping in rotating structures; damping in nanocomposites and biomaterials.

Chad Ulven - Professor and Associate Chair

Office: Dolve 111 B
Phone: 701.231.5641
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Chad.Ulven@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Polymer and Polymer Matrix Composite (PMC) Materials, PMC Processing Technologies, Response of PMCs to Dynamic Loading.

Jessica Vold - Assistant Professor, Engr Entrepreneurship & Innovation

Office: Dolve 102 A
Phone: 701.231.5324
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Jessica.L.Vold@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Additive Manufacturing Materials, Polymer Matrix Composites, Torrefaction of Lignocellulosic Materials, Bio-Based Composite Materials, Mechanical Testing, Material Characterization.

Xinnan Wang - Associate Professor

Office: Ehly 214
Phone: 701.231.6696
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Xinnan.Wang@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Synthesis of Nanomaterials, Nanomechanical Characterization, Nanomanipulation; Biomechanics.

Yechun Wang - Associate Professor

Office: Ehly 216
Phone: 701.231.6732
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Yechun.Wang@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Microfluidics, Biofluid Mechanics, Computational Fluid Dynamics, Numerical Analysis, and Characterization of Organic Coatings. 

Xiangfa Wu - Professor

Office: Dolve 206
Phone: 701.231.8836
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Xiangfa.Wu@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Multifunctional nanofibers and nanocomposites; Polymer matrix composites and adhesively bonded joints; Membrane technology for separation and electrochemical processes; Renewable energy harvesting, conversion and storage; Nanomanufacturing, process modeling and applied mechanics.

Yan Zhang - Assistant Professor

Office: Dolve 101 C
Phone: 701.231.9217
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Yan.Zhang.4@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Experimental Fluid Dynamics, Advanced Flow Diagnostic Techniques, Wind Engineering and Wind Hazard Mitigation, Bio-Fluid Mechanics and Cardiovascular Hemodynamics Modeling.

Directory - Staff

Kimberly Carlson - Account Technician

Office: Dolve 111
Phone: 701.231.9513
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Kimberly.A.Carlson@ndsu.edu

 

Tanya Erickson - Academic and Student Services Coordinator

Office: Dolve 111
Phone: 701.231.8671
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Tanya.Erickson@ndsu.edu

 

Tiffany Neuharth - Administrative Assistant

Office: Dolve 111 E
Phone: 701.231.9767
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Tiffany.Neuharth@ndsu.edu

 

Lacey Nohrenberg - Account Technician

Office: Dolve 111
Phone: 701.231.5171
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Lacey.Nohrenberg@ndsu.edu

 

Rob Sailer - Senior Test Engineer

Office: Dolve 134A
Phone: 701.231.5347
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: Rob.Sailer@ndsu.edu

 

Francisco Valenzuela - Fabrication Technician

Office: Dolve 126
Phone: 701.231.7201
Fax: 701.231.8913
Email: F.A.Valenzuela@ndsu.edu

 

Top of page