Scholarships and Awards


Scholarship Applications


Search for specific scholarship opportunities and apply through NDSU’s scholarship portal.

All external scholarships will also be listed on the same site so login often to see if new opportunities have been added for you.

REMEMBER: Be sure to observe the criteria and deadline for each scholarship. It is the student's responsibility to submit the scholarship application and respond to all additional questions posed.

If you have questions, please email: School of Humanities

Department Scholarships

Darrow R. and Elinor E. Beaton Scholarship

The Darrow R. Beaton and Elinor E. Beaton Endowed Scholarship was established in 1999 by the Beatons to honor the memory of their late daughter Gail Beaton Peterson, wife of NDSU History professor Larry Peterson. Requirements are a full-time student pursuing a degree in History at NDSU through the department, have sophomore or above standing, cumulative GPA of 3.5 or higher, or be an incoming freshman student having obtained an ACT score of 25 or its equivalent and majoring in History.

Albert G. and Celeste Brauer Scholarship

The Albert G. and Celeste Brauer Scholarship was established by Albert G. and Celeste Brauer in April 1992. The award is given annually to students in good academic standing enrolled in history.

Virginia P. George Endowed Scholarship

The Virginia P. George Endowed Scholarship is for any graduate student in history.

History & Religion Faculty Endowed Scholarship

This scholarship is endowed solely by the contributions of the faculty of the School of Humanities. The scholarship is available to students who are majoring within the department and is chosen by the members of the Department.

Michael J. Lyons Writing Award

The award is given to a student whose written work exemplifies Michael J. Lyons' dedication to vivid and clear prose. The student's writing should demonstrate analytical and synthesizing skills and the ability to write with precision and style. The award was established by his friends and colleagues in 1993 to honor him for his outstanding contributions to the study of history and for his devotion to the written word. Michael J. Lyons served as Chair of the History Department from 1972 to 1989.

Martin J Marchello & Barbara Handy-Marchello History Scholarship

The recipient of the Marchello scholarship shall be pursuing a major in the School of Humanities in the College of Arts and Sciences. The Marchellos believe that education is fundamental to a strong democracy and that the knowledge gained through education and research makes a better world for all.  The recipient shall be an undergraduate who has attained the rank of sophomore, junior or senior at the time of disbursement, and must have attained a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher. The scholarship applicant shall submit a substantial letter explaining why he or she deserves the scholarship.



Top of page