Faculty and Staff

Ashley Baggett

Associate Professor of History
422N Minard Hall
(701) 231-8299
ashley.baggett@ndsu.edu

  • Women's History/Gender Studies
  • Nineteenth Century U.S.
  • U.S. South

 

Tracy Barrett

Associate Professor of History
422L Minard Hall
(701) 231-7666
tracy.barrett@ndsu.edu

  • Modern China
  • Southeast Asia
  • Vietnam

 

Bradley Benton

Associate Professor of History
422G Minard Hall
(701) 231-6301
bradley.benton@ndsu.edu

  • Aztec History
  • Colonial Latin America
  • Spanish Empire

 

Anne Blankenship

Associate Professor of Religious Studies
422R Minard Hall
(701) 231-7451
anne.blankenship@ndsu.edu

  • American Religious History
  • Religion and Immigration
  • Pilgrimage
     

Sean Burt

Associate Professor of Religious Studies
422A Minard Hall
(701) 231-8820
sean.burt@ndsu.edu

  • Hebrew Bible
  • Ancient Jewish Literature
  • Religious and Literature

 

Dennis Cooley

Professor of Philosophy & Ethics
422J Minard Hall
(701) 231-7038
dennis.cooley@ndsu.edu

  • Applied Ethics
  • Ethical Theory
  • Biotic Community Pragmatism

 

John Cox

Professor of History
422C Minard Hall
(701) 231-7709
john.cox.1@ndsu.edu

  • 20th-Century Balkans
  • Ottoman Empire
  • Modern Russian History

Anthony Flood

Professor of Philosophy
422D Minard Hall
(701) 231-9631
anthony.flood@ndsu.edu

  • Philosophy
  • Logic

 

Mark Harvey

Department Chair
Professor of History
422K Minard Hall
(701) 231-2282
mark.harvey@ndsu.edu

  • Environmental History
  • U.S. West
  • Twentieth Century U.S.

 

Tom Isern

Professor of History & University Distinguished Professor
422H Minard Hall
(701) 799-2942
isern@plainsfolk.com

  • U.S. Great Plains
  • Agricultural History
  • Canada, Australia and New Zealand

 

Don Johnson

Associate Professor of History
422P Minard Hall
(701) 231-6845
donald.f.johnson@ndsu.edu

  • Colonial/Revolutionary America
  • Early Modern British Empire
  • Pubic History

 

Bradley Morris

Senior Lecturer in Philosophy
422S Minard Hall
(701) 231-6405
b.morris@ndsu.edu

  • Ethics
  • Business Ethics
  • Philosophy of Religion

Marcela Perett

Associate Professor of History
History Graduate Coordinator
422B Minard Hall
(701) 231-8296
marcela.perett@ndsu.edu

  • Medieval Europe
  • Renaissance and Reformation
  • Late Antiquity

 

Angela Smith

Associate Professor of History
422M Minard Hall
(701) 231-8827
angela.smith.1@ndsu.edu

  • 20th Century U.S. History
  • Public History
  • Museum Studies
  • Digital History

 

Adam Taylor

Lecturer in Philosophy
422E Minard Hall
(701) 231-8623
adam.taylor@ndsu.edu

  • Philosophy
  • Ethics

 

Kate Ulmer

Administrative Assistant
422 Minard Hall
(701) 231-8654
kate.ulmer@ndsu.edu

 

Emeritus Faculty

Gerald D. Anderson - Professor Emeritus   England, Modern European History

David B. Danbom - Professor Emeritus    Rural, Recent United States History, North Dakota History

John Helgeland - Professor Emeritus   Western Religious and Cultural, Ancient, Philosophy of History

Ineke Justitz - Professor Emerita   Western Civilization, Early Modern Europe, Renaissance & Reformation History

Michael J. Lyons - Professor Emeritus   England, Modern Europe, World Wars I and II

Larry R. Peterson - Professor Emeritus  Race, Family, U.S. Intellectual History

Top of page