College of HSE Celebration of Excellence - HDFS Award Recipients

The College of Human Sciences and Education recently held their annual Celebration of Excllence. Several HDFS faculty members received awards.

Christi McGeorge - Exceptional Contributions to Research:  Awarded to a faculty member who has established a research program and demonstrated excellence through publications and/or presentations beyond those expected; selected to serve as Editor or on Editorial Board of professional publication; or receipt of significant grant funding from sources outside the University. Her nominator mentioned that "Dr. McGeorge has a clear research program focused on social justice issues in therapy and training with a particular emphasis on lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender (LGBT) affirmative therapy that has generated national and international respect and recognition. Dr. McGeorge is generous in offering valuable research skills directly at NDSU and to the field in multiple ways."

Dena Wyum - Exceptional Contributions to Faculty and Student Mentoring: Awarded to a faculty member who has provided guidance and support for other faculty and students to succeed in their development as instructors, researchers, and/or leaders. Over the past academic year, Dena has engaged in a number of activities that have involved mentoring both undergraduate and graduate students. For example, Dena guest lectured in HDFS 802, a class focused on helping doctoral students develop strong pedology skills. The instructor for HDFS 802, Dr. Heather Fuller, shared the following “Dena is always willing to share her teaching expertise and innovative strategies with both colleagues and new instructors."

Meagan Hoffman - Exceptional Contributions for Collaborative Efforts: Awarded to members of a committee, task force, special group or department working to advance the mission of the University. The group may include faculty, staff, students and community members. Criteria include but are not limited to willingness and ability to work across campus reporting lines, ability to engage in creative initiatives. Dr. Hoffman’s professional collaborations have resulted in over four million dollars in grant funding to conduct programming that significantly impacts the citizens of North Dakota and South Dakota. Three years ago, Meagan began working with colleagues at South Dakota State University (SDSU) to create the Strengthening the Heartland (STH) project, a multi-state collaborative addressing health and wellness in rural communities. The funding to support this project comes from prestigious entities such as USDA/NIFA/Rural Health and Safety Education (RHSE), the Department of Health and Human Services/Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), and USDA/NIFA/Children, Youth, and Families at Risk (CYFAR). These grants have helped the team to empower people within rural communities, taking information into the communities and reaching youth and adults where they are.

Melissa O’Connor - Exceptional Contributions to Learning: Awarded to a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in teaching; receipt of teaching awards; engaged learning; curriculum design; supervision; and other activities that contribute to learning. Dr. O’Connor serves as the Undergraduate Coordinator for the HDFS Department and has led varied efforts to support students and faculty engaged in learning. In her role as Undergraduate Coordinator, she has supported student recruitment and learning by sending recruiting invitations and revising recruitment videos that promote academic options in the HDFS program. Dr. O’Connor has also led efforts to expand academic offerings available to students at the undergraduate level, including development of an Aging Studies certificate and a Family Financial Planning certificate. Dr. O'Connor was also involved in curriculum design and revision, continuing her support and development of a curriculum mapping process. 

Honorable mentions:

Sean Brotherson - Exceptional Contributions to Searcinve/Outreach

Andrea Abrahamson - Staff Distinguished Achievement

Top of page