Feb. 23, 2024

NDSU pharmacy faculty receive national awards

Michael Kelsch, NDSU senior associate dean and pharmacy professor

Michael Kelsch

Michael Kelsch, NDSU senior associate dean and pharmacy professor, and Jeanne Frenzel, NDSU professor of pharmacy practice, are the recipients of national awards from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy.

Kelsch is among the recipients of the Rufus A. Lyman Award from the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy. He is a co-author of research titled “NAPLEX Preparation Program Characteristics and Resources Associated With First-Time Exam Pass Rates,” published in the American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education. The Lyman Award recognizes the best paper published during the previous year.

Co-authors with Kelsch include:  Diana M. Sobieraj of the University of Connecticut; Aleda M.H. Chen of Cedarville University; Lisa Lebovitz of the University of Maryland; Sarah A. Spinler of Binghamton University, The State University of New York; and Mary E. Ray of the University of Iowa.

These top AACP awards recognize recipients for their outstanding contributions made to pharmacy education, research, patient outcomes, community service and academic publishing.

Frenzel was named a 2024 Distinguished Teaching Scholar, recognizing her excellence in scholarly teaching and the scholarship of teaching and learning. Her areas of expertise include institutional and outpatient pharmacy, performance-based assessment, scholarship of teaching and learning, instructional development and assessment in pharmacy education.

Jeanne Frenzel, NDSU professor of pharmacy practice

Jeanne Frenzel

She has published articles in Currents in Pharmacy Teaching and Learning, American Journal of Pharmaceutical Education, Journal of Interprofessional Education and Practice, Journal of the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, Innovations in Pharmacy, as well as numerous conference proceedings and poster presentations.

The recipients of AACP’s awards are at the forefront of healthcare professions education and through their work are advancing pharmacy innovation, enhancing patient care and adding value to the healthcare system, according to the organization. 

Kelsch and Frenzel will receive their awards at the AACP Annual Meeting in July. Award recipients will be honored at AACP’s Annual Meeting, Pharmacy Education 2024, July 20-23, in Boston, Massachusetts.


Submit Your News Story
Help us report what’s happening around campus, or your student news.