Aug. 17, 2021

ND EPSCoR executive director selected for 'Visioning the Future of EPSCoR' committee


Kelly A. Rusch, North Dakota Established Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (ND EPSCoR) executive director and professor of construction, civil and environmental engineering, has been selected by the National Science Foundation to serve on the external committee of experts for “Visioning the Future of NSF EPSCoR.”

The committee will operate as a subcommittee to NSF's Committee on Equal Opportunities in Science and Engineering.

Rusch will be one of 19 national experts, selected out of 70 nominations, to steer a yearlong visioning exercise that will involve stakeholders from across the United States and gather data to better understand the historic and current impacts of NSF EPSCoR programming. The committee also will look for new opportunities and submit a report of findings.

“I am honored to be joining a distinguished set of national experts in this visioning exercise focused on understanding the full impact of NSF EPSCoR current investments and identifying new opportunities that will contribute to greater success and impact within our nation’s STEM research and education ecosystem,” said Rusch.

The Committee on the Future of NSF EPSCoR is comprised of a wide array of experts from the EPSCoR community of investigators, jurisdictional offices and institutional research leadership, and additional experts to build academic research capacity, progressing STEM inclusivity, and improving workforce development in STEM fields.

As a student-focused, land-grant, research university, we serve our citizens.

Submit Your News Story
Help us report what’s happening around campus, or your student news.