April 29, 2024

Winners of Bison Leader Awards announced


The Congress of Student Organizations and the Student Activities Office hosted the 20th Annual Bison Leader Awards. 

The BLA’s is a night to recognize the work done by individual student leaders, student organizations and faculty advisors.  This year the Congress of Student Organization received a record number of nominations for the various awards, including 30 nominations for Student Leaders of the Year.

 In the 2023-24 academic year students at NDSU logged over 18,000 hours of service on campus, in the FM Community and across the country.  Student groups hosted over 50 philanthropic events, which is estimated to have raised over $125,000 for local and national charities such as Farm Rescue, Gigi’s Playhouse, the Children’s Miracle network, St. Jude’s Research hospital and Court Appointed Special Advocates.  Our students continue to have a strong impact not only on campus but in the FM Community.

 Below are the winners of the 23-24 Bison Leader Awards:

 Bison Service Challenge

  • Niskanen Hall
  • Bison Robotic
  • Filipino Student Association
  • Blue Key Honor Society
  • Alpha Tau Omega Fraternity

Philanthropy Event of the Year

  • Freeze-a-thon hosted by  Alpha Tau Omega with proceeds going to Down Home

Service Event of the Year

  • Cookie University hosted by Kappa Delta Sorority

Collaboration Award

  • Alpha Tau Omega Fraternity and Kappa Delta Sorority for Freeze-a-thon

Social Program of the Year

  • Asian Student Organization for the Lunar New Year Celebration

The Unsung Hero

  • Joshua Rindels

Most Improved Student Organization of the Year

  • Western Swing Dance Club

Commitment to Diversity

  • The Human Development and Family Science Club

Community Impact

  • Delta Delta Delta Sorority

New Member of the Year

  • Isaac Mauch
  • Christopher Dick

Education Program of the Year

  • The Artemis Experience Challenge hosted by Bison Robotics

New Student Organization of the Year

  • The Filipino Student Organization

Student Leader of the Year

  • Zachary Quirk

Student Organization of the Year

  • Blue Key honor Society

When you see the these students, members of the organization or the advisors for these groups, please congratulate them for the influence that that have on making NDSU a good place for students.

Categories: Awards, Student Focused
Submit Your News Story
Help us report what’s happening around campus, or your student news.