Content | Navigation |




The department and College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences offer a number of scholarships to undergraduate and graduate communication majors. 

Communication majors are encouraged to apply for one or more of the department's scholarships. Scholarships pay between $100 and $1,000 to help support tuition expenses at NDSU. They also demonstrate your achievement and competence to future employers. Scholarships have a wide variety of requirements, depending on the students' major, GPA, activities and career goals. 

To be eligible for Department of Communication scholarships, students need to fill out the department's scholarship application form. Submit the form as instructed on the application. The 2015 scholarship deadline has been extended to 5 p.m. Friday, Feb. 27, 2015.

Departmental Scholarships

  • Abner O. and Anne Selvig Scholarship

    Eligibility: Junior or Senior majoring in Print Journalism, Broadcast Journalism, or Public Relations
    Minimum 2.5 GPA + demonstrated leadership ability in extracurricular activity

  • Arthur C. and Vera Johnson Speech Scholarship

    Eligibility: Incoming first year students who have demonstrated excellence in human communication

  • Betty Critchfield-Herm Journalism Scholarship

    Eligibility: Senior majoring or minoring in Print Journalism + ND or MN resident

  • Brian D. Hansen Memorial Scholarship

    Eligibility: Junior or Senior majoring in Broadcast Journalism

  • Department of Communication Scholarship

    Eligibility: Junior or Senior communication major
    Minimum 3.5 GPA

  • Donald F. and Lois B. Schwartz Communication Scholarship

    Eligibility: Senior communication major
    Minimum 3.0 GPA + demonstrated campus and community leadership

  • Dorothy Collins Memorial Scholarship

    Eligibility: Staff member of NDSU's student newspaper, the Spectrum
    Additional information can be found here.
    Learn more about Dorothy Collins here.

  • E. James Ubbelohde Scholarship

    Eligibility: Communication education or forensic-related activity at high school level

  • Forensics Service Award

    Eligibility: Member of NDSU forensics team who intends to participate next year

  • Forum Publishing Company Scholarship

    Eligibility: Sophomore, Junior, or Senior majoring in Print Journalism

  • Frederick G. Walsh Scholarship in Speech

    Eligibility: Demonstrated excellence in human communication

  • Harry and Levoyne Littlefield Forensic Scholarship for Speech

    Eligibility: Junior or Senior involved in NDSU forensics

  • Howard Binford Mass Communication Scholarship

    Eligibility: Sophomore, Junior, or Senior majoring in Print Journalism, Broadcast Journalism, or Public Relations

  • John and Shirley Tilton Memorial Scholarship

    Eligibility: Sophomore, Junior, or Senior majoring in Broadcast Journalism

  • Paul E. Nelson and Judy C. Pearson Scholarship

    Eligibility: Full-time doctoral student in Communication
    Minimum 3.8 GPA (in doctoral courses)

  • Pi Kappa Delta Scholarship

    Eligibility: Active member of Pi Kappa Delta Fraternity and member of NDSU forensics team

  • Steven R. Berrell Memorial Scholarship

    Eligibility: Junior or Senior communication major
    Minimum 3.0 GPA

  • Tony Hanson Memorial Scholarship

    Eligibility: Junior majoring in Public Relations or Advertising
    Minimum 3.0 GPA + demonstrated leadership skills through campus involvement

AHSS College Scholarships

The NDSU College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences also offers several college-wide scholarships. The deadline for these scholarship applications is generally March 1.

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Department of Communication
Phone: (701) 231-7705 • Fax: (701) 231-7784
Physical Address: Minard 338 • N. University Dr. & Centennial Blvd. • Fargo, ND 58102
Mailing Address: Department #2310 • P.O. Box 6050 • Fargo, ND 58108

Last Updated: Tuesday, February 17, 2015 3:36:48 PM