Program Director


Dean Gross, PhD, RN, FNP-BC 

Assistant Professor of Practice
Aldevron Tower 148K
701.231.8355

Dean.Gross@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Health literacy, clinical practice guidelines, problem-based learning, health promotion, and community health

Graduate Faculty Members


Mykell Barnacle, DNP, RN, FNP-BC

Assistant Professor of Practice
Aldevron Tower 148F
701.231.7730

Mykell.Barnacle@ndsu.edu 

Research Interests: Internal Medicine, Diabetes Mellitus, Health Promotion/Disease Prevention


Kerri Benning, MSN, RN, FNP-C
Assistant Professor of Practice
Bismarck, Library 3
701.224.3831 

Kerri.Benning@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Pediatrics, Rural Health, Preventative Screening

 


Kelly Buettner-Schmidt, PhD, RN, FAAN 

Associate Professor
Aldevron Tower 148D
701.231.8232

kelly.buettner-schmidt@ndsu.edu 

Research Interests: Health policy, public health, public health nursing, health promotion, disease prevention, tobacco cessation, prevention, and control


Loretta Heuer, PhD, RN, FAAN

Professor
Aldevron Tower 148B
701.231.8205

Loretta.Heuer@ndsu.edu 

Research Interests: Health disparities, rural health issues, diverse populations, community/public health, nursing education, interprofessional education, nursing leadership, nursing workforce


Adam Hohman, DNP, APRN, FNP-BC

Assistant Professor of Practice
Aldevron Tower 148J
701.231.8016

Adam.Hohman@ndsu.edu 

Research Interests: Disaster Preparedness, Critical Care Transport/Austere Environments


Julie Ketterling, FNP

Assistant Professor of Practice
Aldevron Tower 540R
(701) 231-7369

Julie.M.Hageman@ndsu.edu 

Research Interests: Adolescent Health, Health Promotion and Disease Prevention, Women’s Health, Obesity, Anxiety/Depression, Chronic Disease Management


Tina Lundeen, DNP, RN, FNP-BC

Assistant Professor of Practice
Aldevron Tower 148H
701.231.7747

Tina.Lundeen@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Women’s health, obesity, eating disorders, breast feeding, mentoring, evidence-based practice, peer review, and role development


Allison Peltier, DNP, RN, FNP-C
Assistant Professor of Practice
Bismarck Site, Library 4
701.224.3820

Allison.Peltier@ndsu.edu

Research Interests: Healthcare Disparities, Women’s Health, Health Promotion and Disease Prevention




Heidi Saarinen, DNP, RN, FNP-C 
Assistant Professor of Practice
Aldevron Tower 148G
701.231.7821

Heidi.Saarinen@ndsu.edu 

Research Interests: Health promotion/disease prevention; obesity/diet/ exercise; sleep medicine; mental health; breastfeeding; and patient/ provider education/teaching.



Molly Secor-Turner, PhD, RN

Associate Professor
Aldevron Tower 640H
701.231.7517

Molly.Secor-Turner@ndsu.edu 

Research Interests: Using both qualitative and quantitative approaches to her research, Dr. Secor-Turner explores ways to improve adolescent health through reducing risk and building protection in the lives of youth. In particular, her work focuses on how social context shapes adolescent sexual health, access to youth-friendly health services, and global health. 

 

 

Top of page