Content | Navigation |



Welcome to NDSU Psychology

NDSU Psychology features award-winning instruction and world-class research in areas including health, social, developmental and clinical psychology, as well as visual and cognitive neuroscience. On this website, you'll find just about everything you will need or want to know about our department. Our site has just been rebuilt for ease of navigation, so you should be able to easily find information about our faculty, facilities, undergraduate and graduate programs, job openings, and our colloquium series. Of course, you are also welcome to contact us by phone, email, or in person. We'd love to hear from you!

Best regards,

James Council
Chair, Department of Psychology



NDSU Psychology News

Cheyenne Brady named Miss Indian World
NDSU Psychology major Cheyenne Brady from New Town, North Dakota, was recently crowned Miss Indian World in Albuquerque, New Mexico.  Cheyenne is a member of the Sac and Fox tribe and has ancestors from the Cheyenne, Pawnee, Otoe, Kiowa, Apache, Hidatsa, Arikara and Tonkawa tribes.  For the next year, she will represent Native Americans and Native American cultures around the world.  Cheyenne has been accepted in the NDSU Masters of Public Health Program and will begin her studies this fall, while fulfilling her duties of Miss Indian World. 
2015 Red River Psychology Conference
The 2015 Red River Psychology Conference will be April 23-24 at Minnesota State University Moorhead. MSUM Psi Chi is pleased to announce that this year’s key note speaker will be Dr. Susan Everson-Rose from the University of Minnesota.  Dr. Everson-Rose is Associate Professor of Medicine and Associate Director of the Program in Health Disparities Research. Her research investigates psychosocial stressors that impact cardiovascular disease risk. For more information, click on the link above.
NDSU Faculty Lectureship Series
Dr. Verlin Hinsz will present "Schemes and Scheming: How Groups Think, Feel and Decide" as part of NDSU Faculty Lectureship series. The lecture will be Tuesday, April 28 at 7:30 p.m. in the Memorial Union Great Room. The fundamental question to be addressed in this lecture is "How are the characteristics of group members (their thoughts, feelings, preferences) combined and transformed to result in a shared group response?" The lecture is free and open to the public. Reception to follow.
Dr. Thomas Joiner to Present Community Lecture
Please join us on Wednesday, April 29th for the next presentation in the College of Science and Mathematics Community Lectureship series. The lecture will be at the Fargo Theater at 7:00 p.m.  Dr. Thomas Joiner will be presenting "Why People Die By Suicide." Dr. Joiner is the Robert O. Lawton Distinguished Professor of Psychology at Florida State University. For more information on Dr. Joiner, please click on the link above.
NDSU Master of Public Health director to receive honor
March 26, 2015
Congratulations Dr. Warne! Psychology faculty members Clayton Hilmert and Leah Irish have been working with Dr. Warne and the NDSU American Indian Health Resource Center to investigate psychosocial influences on American Indian health. Read more about Dr. Warne's recent award using the link above.
News Archive


Colloquia are held on Fridays at 
3:30 in Minard 230

9/25   Leah Irish, Ph.D.
10/2   Sammy Perone, Ph.D.
          University of Minnesota        
10/9   Jennifer Momsen, Ph.D. 
Click here for the full 
colloquia schedule




Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps


Department of Psychology
North Dakota State University
Phone: +1 (701) 231-8622 / Fax: (701) 231-8426
Campus address: Minard Hall 232 
Mailing address: NDSU Dept. 2765 / PO Box 6050 / Fargo, ND 58108-6050

Department Chair: James Council, Ph.D.
Page manager:

Last Updated: Monday, September 21, 2015 9:19:48 AM