Leadership and Staff

Meet Our Leadership

Get to know our leadership team who guide the direction of the graduate programs at NDSU.
 

Maria-Claudia Tomany, Ph.D.
Dean
claudia.tomany@ndsu.edu

Dr. Claudia Tomany became Dean of the College of Graduate and Interdisciplinary Studies in May of 2016. Dr. Tomany is responsible for the administration of all graduate education activities and graduate interdisciplinary programs. Tomany utilizes her extensive research and administrative experience and collaborative leadership style to support and expand graduate education on campus.

Tomany was the academic leader and executive campus director for the planned Gilbert, Arizona, campus of St. Xavier University. She previously was associate vice president for academic affairs and dean of graduate studies at Western State Colorado University, Gunnison, Colorado. Prior to that, Tomany was assistant vice president for undergraduate studies and international education at Minnesota State University, Mankato.

She earned her bachelor's degree at the University of Bergen, Norway; her master's degree and doctorate in English and Scandinavian studies at the University of Munich, Germany.

Brandy A. Randall, Ph.D.
Associate Dean
brandy.randall@ndsu.edu

Dr. Brandy Randall joined The Graduate School as associate dean in 2013. Dr. Randall leads student professional development and program development and review aspects of the College of Graduate and Interdisciplinary Studies. This includes working with graduate programs and the Graduate Council to develop curriculum, and developing workforce and professional development activities for graduate students. Randall is also a professor in the Department of Human Development and Family Science.

Lisa Hauck
Assistant Dean
lisa.hauck@ndsu.edu

Lisa Hauck joined The Graduate School in 2015 and as assistant dean is responsible for coordinating and overseeing graduate recruitment and admission processes and also for supporting the development and implementation of international partnerships. She earned her bachelor’s degree in History at Wright State University in Dayton, Ohio, her master’s degree in Chinese Language and Literature at the Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio and is completing her doctoral degree in Education at NDSU.

Contact Our Staff
Business and Operations Team

Nonnie Tangen
Business and Operations Manager
(701) 231-5944
nonnie.tangen@ndsu.edu

 

Katie Larson
Accounting Technician
(701) 231-5101
kathryn.larson.1@ndsu.edu

Ann Fredrickson
Administrative Assistant
(701) 231-7346
ann.fredrickson@ndsu.edu

 

 

 

Admissions Team

Neely Benton
Student Recruitment Coordinator
(701) 231-8476
neely.benton@ndsu.edu

 

Katelyn Koiner
Customer Service Associate
(701) 231-5762
k.koiner@ndsu.edu

Melissa Ostby
Graduate Admission Coordinator
(701) 231- 7034
melissa.j.ostby@ndsu.edu

 

Academic Support Team

Robin Cummings Pas
Academic Support Specialist
(701) 231- 8547
robin.cummingspas@ndsu.edu

Engineering
Interdisciplinary Studies
Science and Mathematics

 

Melissa Selders-Ortez
Academic Support Coordinator
(701) 231-5945
melissa.seldersortez@ndsu.edu

Agriculture, Food Systems and Natural Resources
Human Development and Education

Kate Nelson DeShaw
Academic Support Specialist
(701) 231- 6456
katherine.nelson.1@ndsu.edu

Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences
Business
Health Professions

 
Graduate Center for Writers

Danjel Nygard
Disquisition Processor
(701) 231- 5272
danjel.nygard@ndsu.edu

 

Kristina Caton
Assistant Director
(701) 231-5264 
kristina.caton@ndsu.edu

Enrico Sassi
Director
(701) 231-9382
enrico.sassi@ndsu.edu

 
Connect with Our Faculty

Find a full list of Graduate School faculty in the Graduate Bulletin. Or find out more about our faculty and researchers through the NDSU Office of Research and Creative Activity.