Research Areas

Find an expert.

Connect with Our Researchers

The Challey Institute Faculty Fellows program invites researchers from across disciplines to engage in research that advances our mission in one of its core areas: innovation and entrepreneurship; international trade, investment and immigration; and institutions and policy.

Fellows have knowledge and expertise in a wide array of subject areas. The work they are doing to support our mission is highlighted in one of the focus areas below. 

Fostering Innovative Ecosystems

Xudong Rao, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Agribusiness and Applied Economics

Understanding the dynamics between public and private R&D investment in agriculture. Does public investment crowd out private investment or complement it?
xudong.rao@ndsu.edu

Jeremy Straub, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Computer Science

Examining the impacts of policy related to the defense against cyberattacks on innovation, private enterprise, and growth.

jeremy.straub@ndsu.edu

Ranjit Godavarthy, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Transportation and Logistics

Understanding the gig economy, opportunities, and impacts of policy/regulation.

ranjit.godavarthy@ndsu.edu

Onnolee Nordstrom, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Management

Highlighting the activities of family foundations and identifying potential policies/policy changes and how those foundations and their activities would be impacted.

onnolee.nordstrom@ndsu.edu

Cheryl Wachenheim, Ph.D.
Professor of Agribusiness and Applied Economics

Coordinating a mini-conference that will examine policies/regulations associated with precision agriculture and their impacts.

cheryl.wachenheim@ndsu.edu

Shuning Lu, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Communication

Journalism innovation in the U.S. and China. What is the influence of policy on journalism innovation?

shuning.lu@ndsu.edu

Rajani Ganesh Pillai, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Marketing

Understanding the role of higher education/industry partnerships in innovation. How effective are these partnerships in spurring innovation, and what features of such partnerships are important?

rajani.pillai@ndsu.edu

Joshua Marineau, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Management

Understanding best practices for communities in encouraging entrepreneurial ecosystem development. How can we foster vibrant entrepreneurial ecosystems that encourage entrepreneurship from a wide variety of people?

joshua.marineau@ndsu.edu

Immigration Policy and Reform

Heath Wing, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Modern Languages

Examining historical immigration policies on the U.S.-Mexico border, and implications for future policy.

heath.wing@ndsu.edu

Anupa Sharma, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Agribusiness and Applied Economics

Exploring the relationships between immigration, innovation, and growth, and the ways they are shaped by institutions and policies.

anupa.sharma@ndsu.edu

Jeongdoo Park, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Hospitality Management

Understanding less-skilled immigrants in the hospitality industry. What kinds of policies might help this group better adjust to their jobs and new environment?

jeongdoo.park@ndsu.edu

Global Trade and Protectionism

Ganapathy Mahalingam, Ph.D.
Professor of Architecture

Providing a graduate seminar introducing students to international digital trade, barriers to international digital trade, and the potential for international digital trade agreements.

ganapathy.mahalingam@ndsu.edu

Jaeha Lee, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Apparel, Retail Merchandising, and Design

Examining institutional and regulatory factors that complicate trade for small businesses.

jaeha.lee@ndsu.edu

Derek Lehmberg, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Management

Developing case studies and other course materials dealing with international trade and the complications associated with non-tariff barriers.

derek.lehmberg@ndsu.edu

The Philosophical and Psychological Foundations of Flourishing

Clay Routledge, Ph.D.
Professor of Management

"Existential economics” – what role does meaning in life play in innovation, entrepreneurship, economic mobility, and value placed on liberty and free markets.

clay.routledge@ndsu.edu

Verlin Hinsz, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychology

Examining the need for increased adaptability of the workforce for the future.

verlin.hinsz@ndsu.edu

Policy and Regulatory Barriers to Opportunity

Robert Hearne, Ph.D.
Professor of Agribusiness and Applied Economics

Examining institutional constraints on river water management.

robert.hearne@ndsu.edu

Dan Pemstein, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Political Science

Examining digital content regulations and how political considerations affect regulatory burdens.

daniel.pemstein@ndsu.edu

Lei Zhang, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Agribusiness and Applied Economics

Examining land use regulations’ impacts on housing, and comparing U.S. and China housing markets and the role of markets.

lei.zhang.3@ndsu.edu

David Hong, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Accounting

Examining the impacts of changes in tax law on FDI and domestic investment.

yongtao.hong@ndsu.edu

 

 

Top of page