Content | Navigation |



Department of Physics

The Department comprises twelve full-time faculty members, a laboratory technician, and an administrative assistant. We are research-oriented with active efforts in theoretical and computational condensed matter physics (soft matter, complex fluids, and biophysics), optics (laser applications), physics education research, and experimental polymer physics.

We offer M.S. and Ph.D. graduate programs and an undergraduate major in Physics, along with an option in Optical Science and Engineering. See the sidebars to learn more about our research areas, degree programs, and course offerings.

Recent News:

New physics newsletter has arrived!

Physics Department hosts 'eclipse viewing' gathering.

NDSU physics alumni honored for their Distinguished Careers.

Physics and Pharmacy team wins 2017 Innovation Challenge!

NDSU research honored with Soft Matter front cover.  Read on here.

Collaborative Research Published in High Impact Journal!  read more here.

More NDSU research featured with Soft Matter back cover!  Read more here.

Congratulations to Braden Weight, who won first place undergraduate poster at the "SOLVING REAL WORLD PROBLEMS: An Interdisciplinary Celebration of Research" forum.

Report Bias, Bigotry, Hate

Student Focused. Land Grant. Research University.

Follow NDSU
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • RSS
  • Google Maps

Site Manager: Physics Webmaster
Published by Department of Physics

Last Updated: Wednesday, November 01, 2017 6:09:25 PM
Privacy Statement