College History

1950 Business/Economics major first appeared in a course catalog
1976 Undergraduate major in Business Administration established
1980 Master of Business Administration degree approved
1983 Undergraduate degree in accounting approved
1983 Department moved into Putnam Hall
1987 College of Business Administration formed with John Scheibelhut as dean
1988 Management Information Systems (MIS) degree approved
1993 Harriette McCaul appointed to three-year term as dean (January)
1994 College awarded candidacy status for accreditation by AACSB
1996 Joseph Walka named dean
1999 Jay A. Leitch named dean
2000 College earns AACSB accreditation (December)
2000 College departments formed: Accounting and Management Information Systems; Management, Marketing, and Finance
2002 Drawings of proposed new building unveiled
2002 Beta Gamma Sigma chapter established
2003 College's first international study trip - Cuba
2005 Ronald D. Johnson named dean
2006 College renamed: College of Business (CoB)
2006 Student Management Investment Fund is founded
2006 Western Europe spring break trip begins
2007 President announces College to move to refurbished Pioneer Building on 10th St N; Construction on Richard H. Barry Hall begins (July)
2008 Center for Global Initiatives established
2008 New majors in Management, marketing, and Finance added
2009 Students, faculty, and staff move into Richard H. Barry Hall
2009 Departments renamed: Accounting, Finance, and Information Systems; Management and Marketing
2009 Graduate program established: Master of Accountancy (MAcc)
2009 First study trip to China
2009 European Semester established in Center for Global Initiatives
2010 Innovation Week begins in partnership with the NDSU Research & Technology Park (January)
2010 Global Business Week begins in partnership with the ND Trade Office (March)
2013 Center for Professional Selling and Sales Technology established
2015 Study trip to Dubai added (spring break and winter)
2015 Second major in Global Business added
2016 Scott Beaulier named dean
2017 Transportation and Logistics becomes a department; faculty move to CoB from UGPTI
2018 Entrepreneurship minor and certificate offered
2018 Graduate (MBA) certificates become available
2018 Center for Enterprise Business Analytics established
2018 Departments renamed: Accounting and Information Systems; Management and Marketing; Transportation, Logistics, and Finance
2019 Ozbun Executive Director of Entrepreneurship named; Nice Center established
2019 Sheila and Robert Challey Institute for Global Innovation and Growth established
2019 Ronald and Kaye Olson Endowed Deanship established
2023 Kathryn Birkeland named dean
Top of page